We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor on their way out ?”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very poor on their way out ?”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Seriously don't know how the hotel owner can still have this place running might as well sell up and give up, it's run down smells damp dirty I actually drove 200 miles home after visiting kent for the day rather than stay here! The beds were dirty and one had a big dip in the middle also with two children aged 5 we were placed on the top floor which is several cases of stairs to be fair to the staff they refunded us and we were told they put us on the older part of the hotel couldn't of been worse for us as we were in Folkestone fir a funeral.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    168
    174
    88
    84
See reviews for
80
281
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

my fiance,19 month old daughter and myself stayed here in september and it was a very friendly place to stay. the staff were amazing, my daughter had a fancy for a waiter. every morning when we went for breakfast she couldnt keep the smile off her face everytime he looked or talked to her lol it was very cute.only bad thing was that the room we werein was way to hot, there was no heating on but the room was still so hot.overall great place would go back thanks again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elainewil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Elaine

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad to hear that the team [again] met our high standards of service, and Laszlo also remembers the smiles from your lovely daughter, maybe he is getting broody, I will have to ask his girlfriend :)
it was a pleasure meeting you both, and please use the repeat guest discount code I gave you on departure [south10]

kind regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on route to Bruges through the Channel Tunnel on 24th September 2013. The hotel is dated, as other reviews have mentioned, but thats not really a problem. We found the hotel to be clean, the staff were pleasant and it is in a great location. We walked in to Folkestone to do a bit of shopping and we loved it. Nice little harbour and a pleasant walk back along the seafront.
As requested we had a 1st floor room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. For the price we paid we have no complaints. Great view from the room over the channel. A special mention must go to the staff, especially in the dining room for breakfast. On arrival we were told that breakfast was served from 7.30 am. As we had a relatively early Channel crossing this was going to be pushing it a little bit. However we went into the breakfast room at about 7.15 or so and explained our predicament to the staff. Not a problem, they all swung in to action and managed to serve us tea, coffee, toast and a full English in record time. Exceptional service, they went the extra mile when they could have just told us to wait until 7.30. Great breakfast as well! It is service like this that makes you remember a place for all the right reasons. When we go through the channel Tunnel on a trip again we would definitely use this hotel again. It is only a 10 minute drive to the terminal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for writing the review after your recent stay.

as most comments do state, some rooms are tired, however we just took receipt of 3 brand new bedroom suites, so maintainance now have a busy time refitting! this is a slow and laborous task, but we will get there one day.

again, its heartwarming to hear that our staff do a fantastic job, especially when an earlier than normal breakfast is required. We try to train them to treat everyone as you would a friend, and it seems to be paying off!
please book with us again, and if you go via our own website, use "south10" to receive a discount

Kind Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Southcliff Hotel in Folkestone is a great hotel with friendly staff,the room are very comfortable.
The breakfast was fantastic and i would highly recommend a stay here to all my friends and family.
I will most definately be going back again.

Room Tip: room with the sea view are a good deal,me and my son stayed in room 326 on the 3rd floor it was larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi Janet

thank you once again for writing a review after your stay.
I hope you visit again soon!!


Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night awaiting tunnel crossing and it was a good location for this,the hotel is right on the front with good views looks great from the outside and the staff are all very friendly.

The hotel is extremely dated and feels like you have stepped back in time, although all quite clean you don't really like walking around the room barefoot and the furniture is very old. We asked for a room on one of the top floors with a sea view but got the ground floor with a view at the back of the hotel, this was one of many hotels we had booked over a 3 week period and all of the other hotels throughout Europe listened to this one request, so it was disappointing that the one on our own soil had not. Folkstone itself has very little to offer and I would only stay here as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your review from your stay.

shame we never met your requirements, but during the summer months, we fill very quickly, resulting in seaview upgrades being hard to do.
as stated elsewhere in my many replies, we are working our way through the 70+ rooms we have, with 3 new bedroom suites only delivered a few days ago.

Next time you are passing, please contact me direct on ian@thesouthcliff.co.uk and I will see what I can offer!


Kind Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

OH MY... AVOID! stayed 1 night on 13th sept and 1 night 21st sept. (if it wasn't paid for in advanced I'd of gone some where else) the place is a cross between the house out of adams family and faulty towers, from outside in its falling apart, the floor boards are all over the place, step, creak, step, creak, the decor (whats not peeling or hanging off the walls) is some from back in the day, the 2 lifts are death traps, (the old things where you open a metal shutter door) fits one person and a small suitcase and the alarm goes off until you close the door again! the bedrooms are even better... theres 2 windows in the bedroom, 1 is broke so there's a gap when closed but wedged shut anyway and the other, the hinges have snapped off so when you finally manage to open it you have to wedge it open (only thing in reaching distance was a little stool) the bathroom was hilarious, be careful not to trip over the ripped lino, theres a bath and for the shower is a rubber pipe chucked in the bath you have to push over the taps then sit and hold, grandma's have more taste... pink, green, floral, WOW
one thing is though the bedding was very clean and crisp white, staff were friendly enough, spend some money on this hotel and it would be brilliant especially with its location and right on the sea front, im afraid next time ill spend a bit more money and stay at a weatherspoons! pictures will be added!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaVictoria21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi Emma

further to your review, I feel I need to clarify a few points,
we do not pre charge guests to stay, with a cancellation time of 2pm day before. maybe the booking agent has charged you instead?
As stated elsewhere on this site, I make it a point to check and reply to all our previous guests.
your 2 x rooms [110 & 219] has now been added to our shortlist for refurb.
in regards to the manual doors, this has now gone and replaced with automatic doors, so no more alarms.

as always, Housekeeping work tirelessly in the background, and their unsung labours give a fantastic result of cleanliness that makes us all proud.


Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here before going over to france by eurotunnel and on our arrival back (2 nights in total) - OK it is cheap,but that is no excuse for allowing a very run down hotel to take customers hard earned money and not provide a decent, up to date, fit for purpose hotel. The hotel inspector should very definitely pay a visit here and see what she says.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lizstanyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing