We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water - broken shower and no milk for tea of coffee”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No hot water - broken shower and no milk for tea of coffee”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked into the southcliff for a few days away to visit family. Were booked into room 45. Simple room. Seemed okay, over looking the rear car park. It is a clean enough room, very basic. For a cheap (£71) and cheerful hotel we didn't expect much but when I went to have a shower I at least expected hot water. After playing with the shower for 10 minutes I got fed up and went down to the front desk and asked how it worked. This confirmed to me that it was Infact broken and there was no hot water. I was told by the man at the desk 'I'll tell maintenance' then continued doing what he was doing.
So I said 'well what are we meant to do in the mean time' to which he phoned 'Dave the maintenance man'.

Due to go out for dinner we can't wait any longer for Dave to come and sort it out, we weren't offered a change of room or even an apology.
I ran the tap on the sink and after 2 minutes it had barely warmed up.

Tea and coffee is supplied in the form of some freeze dried sachets however no milk. So that's useless unless you wish to buy your own or if you have it as it comes.

We've been booked in an hour and I'm already stewing on a rather large complaint for money back.

I'm not hotel inspector but anybody should be able to get a warm shower and a drop of milk with the supplied tea and coffee.

Not a happy Easter bunny.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coxxy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    165
    169
    87
    84
See reviews for
78
277
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having pulled up outside the hotel you could see the difference in the pictures on the internet . it looked lovely and clean and bright in the photos , But to see it for real it looked very dirty and the windows needed a clean as well. As we walked in the front door to be greet with a lovely big smile and very polite gentleman on the front desk . we checked in and then went our room which was again very dull and needed a good make over . as pretty much of the hotel in fairness . Then we went to the bar and stayed there much of the afternoon . After going out for something to eat , We came back to a packed hotel . There were people sitting in the main room and waiting to play bingo . So I said where do we buy the tickets from ,to be told its a private party , So we had 1 more drink and retired to our room. In the morning we went to breakfast and to be fair it was very good . So overall a good cheap overnight stay with breakfast .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having left The Carlton Hotel next door due to many problems, I booked in for night at the Southcliff Hotel.
Food slightly better than Carlton. I had a doulble room that over looked sea.
The room was clean and nice clean bed. The furniture was sunburnt and had seen better days. A draw broke as i was opening it. The toilet seat needed fixing.No shower. The bath had old fashioned plastic hand held spray attached to bath taps!!!
The worst part was after going for an early morning walk, getting out of the lift to go to my room when a homeless man was getting in with his belongings!!!! I understand this is common practice in the area with an agreement with council.
Cheap stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droopydraws27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two days, rooms were clean and tidy even if a bit dated. Bathroom was a squeeze and not very modern but for the money it did the job nicely. Staff were friendly and we would happily stay again, good value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndonjedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you're looking for cheap and cheerful with no frills attached then this is the one. We had a large room on fourth floor and had to reach this via a 'faulty towers' style lift built by 'bob the builder'. There was a sea view with amazing sunrise scenery and location was great. (Brilliant indian restaurant round corner). The room was spotless although, as you would expect, the bathroom fittings were historic, and the bed was a bit dodgy. However, lovely welcome and convenient for port so would recommend for cheap, short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for one night. It is the worst place I have ever stayed! There was constant anti-social noise and behaviour - it is too close to pubs and clubs. On 29th March there was an all-night rave in a neighbouring building. Crowds were congregating underneath my bedroom window, being loud and offensive. Despite my drawing attention to this, the hotel took no responsibility for ensuring my peace and well-being as a fee paying guest (£54.50). I had no sleep whatsoever and felt ill the next day. The hotel were neither apologetic nor conciliatory.

Secondary concerns were noisy plumbing, the inedible breakfast, the low standard of hygiene and decoration.

The hotel advertises parking at £2.00 per day. They do not make it clear that this is for roadside permit-parking, which given the melee does not give peace of mind regarding vehicle safety.

One positive: a sea view!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102DianeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here from 26th to 29th March. Booking in was quick by very friendly staff and soon in our double sea view 3rd floor room . Room not large but adequate and very clean and the sea views were fantastic. Public areas very comfortable and the breakfasts brilliant with good quality ingredients and friendly staff. Whilst no car park you can park free within just a few minutes walk. One very nice feature is the outside area to the front where you can sit and enjoy the sea views.The hotel is just a few minutes level walk to the High Street and bus station. We stay in Folkestone frequently and if you want a price friendly hotel in a fantastic position the Southcliff would take a lot of beating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing