We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Southcliff
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$50
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Seabrook House(Hythe)(Great Value!)
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
94
184
182
92
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
184
182
92
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedbasic hotelcoach partysea frontleas cliffshower roomcooked breakfasttown centretea and coffeeexcellent value for moneyseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an overnight stay here as we had an early morning tunnel crossing and it is perfectly adequate more an overnight stay. The premises on the whole are very clean but it is very tired looking and could possibly do with a makeover, however for the price you pay it is totally acceptable. Our room had a balcony and sea view, tv,tea/coffee making facility. Bathroom rather small but adequate. Staff friendly. Although breakfast is included in the room price we cannot comment on the standard of this as due to us having to leave before breakfast service which is from 8am we found this to be rather late. There is very limited parking on the road outside but there is a car park nearby. Although this is very reasonably priced if you are on a budget there is probably better places to stay in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great weekend break at the Southcliffe Hotel, we used Folkestone as a base for visiting Canterbury and Dover Castle. Rooms a little dated but very clean, bathroom spotless and seemed to be newly refurbished. Lovely location on the promenade overlooking the channel. I cannot understand the complaints for this hotel, for the price it's excellent value, the three course meal served at dinner alone would cost more than the hotel room rate.

The food was lovely, plenty of breakfast cereals and a nice cooked breakfast, the young waitstaff were lovely and very helpful, as were all the staff. Evening meals also great, served piping hot and very efficiently.

No problems at all, though the only noise we heard were those darn seagulls, very noisy all through the night lol, certainly not the hotels fault.

Would definitely visit again, the hotel was very handy for the bus station to Canterbury and Dover. We want to return to Kent to visit Hastings, Hever and Leeds Castle so will certainly be contacting the Southcliffe again.

Thank you Southclffe Hotel and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I read the earlier reports on Trip Advisor. Yes the Hotel is rather dated BUT the Staff were very Friendly and Helpful, the bed very comfortable, Breakfast was fine. I would use this Hotel again, we got what we paid for. Good value. Thanks again. Jimmy and Freida.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seaview, fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVFCTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was expectionally cheap so I thought it would be more like a hostel. We booked a room for two people and a two year old; they didn't charge for my son and provided a travel cot too. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly suprised. The hotel is a fair size, lit up with pretty blue lights, and is very central to Folkestone, overlooking the sea. The lounge and halls were elegant, very bright with a cosy bar at the back. Our room on the second floor was small but nicely arranged. The balcony had a picture perfect view of the sea. Only thing, the room was little grubby in the corners and the shower wasn't very clean. Breakfast the next morning was simple (a small fry up) but considering the cost of the room excellent value. Very pleased with our stay and would recommend it

Room Tip: sea view is lovely but no good if you cant sleep with a little background noise from the road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not good, had a night stay, it was disaster, faulty locks, smelly rooms but the view beats them all and staffs very lovely and warm. If you are looking for a good stay you are better off somewhere else but if you are tight on budget, it might be the one for you.

Room Tip: Balcony and sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews