We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is a bit dated but for the money it's ok. The view from the front is stunning across the sea,nice small lounge to relax in with a small bar.
The bedroom was adequate again the furniture is very dated but it was clean and tidy.
The staff very friendly and helpful and full English breakfast was good.
It is very convenient for the Euro Tunnel about 25 minutes away. Down side was no car park but you can buy a parking permit from the hotel for £2 not sure how long that is for as we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandL186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear G and L

thank you for the review.
the parking vouchers are valid 12 noon of day of issue, until 12 noon the following day. at this price it is superb value, compared to £3.60 for max 3 hours at the pay & display machines.

I hope you choose ourselves again in you are in the Folkestone area

regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    165
    166
    87
    84
See reviews for
78
275
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I was using this hotel as a stopover for one night and was very disappointed, On first impressions the location and the outside of the hotel was quite impressive but on entering it was a different story, smelly, 70s decor and the bedroom and bathroom were very tired.
I was told that there was secure parking for motorcycles, if secure means protected by dog turds in a back street well that's a new one on me. I know its cheap but it's not very cheerful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RearGunner1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reargunner1275

thank you for the review.
I am very puzzled about the back street comment. we do not have a street at the back, just a very small driveway, shared with the residential flats next door. this is constantly in use, and the flats employ a man to tidy [daily] the outside of the building.

are you sure it was The Southcliff?
if so, please email me direct on ian@thesouthcliff.co.uk so I can fully investigate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful facade, overlooking the English channel, close to the Promenade (with live rock n roll band playing whilst we were there

Good rooms for price, very pleasant and helpful staff. Enjoyed the stay

Room Tip: Worth getting a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the English channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a one night stay on our way back from France to break the journey up, and yes it was cheap compared to some places.
Very dated all around even from outside it looks dated, although the bedroom was clean it left a lot to be desired, the bath was ancient, hardly any enamel left on it, horrid damp patch on the ceiling, the whole place needs major update to get rid of the damp smell that greets you as soon as you step inside.
Breakfast !!!! Felt like being in a dungeon, in the basement, dark grey carpet, lots of pillars, not very nice and certainly not welcoming, had to ask for glasses for orange juice(which wasn't chilled) waiter got our order completely wrong even though he'd wrote it down, wasn't happy with this place at all, can't understand how it's still getting used.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetLeeds_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked this hotel via booking.com a couple of weeks ago and received an email at five minutes to midnight last night to tell us they had overbooked and had moved us. Arrived at 19.30 this evening. Don't feel it is fair to name the hotel we were moved to but suffice to say it falls far short of what we booked. To describe it as tired is a compliment but when you are only spending a night you make do. Be careful when you book this one through booking.com, you don't know where you'll end up!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an overnight stay here as we had an early morning tunnel crossing and it is perfectly adequate more an overnight stay. The premises on the whole are very clean but it is very tired looking and could possibly do with a makeover, however for the price you pay it is totally acceptable. Our room had a balcony and sea view, tv,tea/coffee making facility. Bathroom rather small but adequate. Staff friendly. Although breakfast is included in the room price we cannot comment on the standard of this as due to us having to leave before breakfast service which is from 8am we found this to be rather late. There is very limited parking on the road outside but there is a car park nearby. Although this is very reasonably priced if you are on a budget there is probably better places to stay in the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great weekend break at the Southcliffe Hotel, we used Folkestone as a base for visiting Canterbury and Dover Castle. Rooms a little dated but very clean, bathroom spotless and seemed to be newly refurbished. Lovely location on the promenade overlooking the channel. I cannot understand the complaints for this hotel, for the price it's excellent value, the three course meal served at dinner alone would cost more than the hotel room rate.

The food was lovely, plenty of breakfast cereals and a nice cooked breakfast, the young waitstaff were lovely and very helpful, as were all the staff. Evening meals also great, served piping hot and very efficiently.

No problems at all, though the only noise we heard were those darn seagulls, very noisy all through the night lol, certainly not the hotels fault.

Would definitely visit again, the hotel was very handy for the bus station to Canterbury and Dover. We want to return to Kent to visit Hastings, Hever and Leeds Castle so will certainly be contacting the Southcliffe again.

Thank you Southclffe Hotel and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
277 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing