We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather tiny rooms in a guesthouse in a quiet Folkestone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wycliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wycliffe Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
673 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Rather tiny rooms in a guesthouse in a quiet Folkestone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our stay in the Wycliffe Guesthouse was our last one, before we departed to The Netherlands, at the end of our 2 weeks roundtrip through England and Wales. It is closely located to either the Eastern Docks of Dover or the Channel Tunnel. So it is suitable for either your first or your last stay. More than one night in a row I would not recommend, because the rooms are very tiny, including the bathroom. The neighborhood is very quiet and we had a good night sleep and maybe we were pampered too much by bigger rooms. The staff, Kate, is very friendly and caring, so we felt very much at home. Within short distance you can walk to the Leas, what we may call the Boulevard, to see the waterfront. It is recommended to opt for a private bathroom with electric toilet, which can be a bit noisy when flushing. We catered for our own breakfast, but for some extra cash you can have it downstairs in the dining hall. Thus a good stay for one night in a row only.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
39
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

A friendly hotel, spacious room, small ensuite shower room, free parking on site, great stop over location for access to the continent either by the channel tunnel, or via the port of Dover. A fair few restaurants within walking distance, with a variety of cuisines to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weimiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

If your looking for a modern comfortable hotel I wouldn't come here. The hotel in itself is very dated old carpets, furnishings and it just needs a good revamp to be honest! The rooms are very basic but again very outdated with old fashioned bedding, floors etc. The bed was quite uncomfortable as well and we didn't have a very good nights sleep on it. In the room you have a kettle and some coffee and tea and a TV with basic freeview channels. I was dissapointed to find there was no full length mirror in the bedroom which made it difficult blowdrying and styling hair!

The shower wasn't very good either, it was either too hot or too cold and the hot water wasn't turned on till 430pm!

I wouldn't bother paying for breakfast as it wasn't very nice, plenty of selection though which is good but the fried breakfast wasn't good and quite small! One very small shrivvelled up rasher of bacon and what tasted like a asda basics sausage!

Plus sides, good location, not far from all the shops and bars etc in Folkestone though which is what we really needed. Also it has an honesty bar which is quite rare, however, I wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

when we arrived,we were very surprised to see we were on the top floor. The room we were given was very cramped . The beds were very uncomfortable. The lamps on either side of the beds were falling to bits. We had to share a toilet and shower with two other rooms. As our room was for four adults it wasn't very good. When we let the water out of the hand basin in the room all the water came up in the shower. As the shower was mildewed already the black gunge that came up didn't help at all. On the whole a terrible experience over all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hornets1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I booked the smallest room in the house, room 15, right at the top of this older style hotel, it was great value and served the purpose of a single nights bed for the night. This place is excellent value, and nice people good breakfast too,
I like the fact they had a trust bar which is rare, even though I did not use it

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapelle-op-den-Bos, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we booked this hotel for our last night in the UK before taking the ferry back to Calais. We were welcomed by the owners who helped with our luggage and who were really kind. We had the front room on the first floor which had a lot of space and a small but clean bedroom, we ate dinner which was basic but really well cooked with a good price value. Breakfast was a little basic for me, but ok. The location of the hotel is really well, it's just a small walk to the sea shore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W_Troch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dersingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

we booked a room for night before going to France and Spain, it is a very nice family place. The room was very comfortable and clean, although rather small. the bed was very comfortable and was a quiet place to stay.
The breakfast was perfect and the people were very friendly and very helpful.
we would recommend to any one wanting to stay in Folkstone

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandM-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wycliffe Hotel

Property: The Wycliffe Hotel
Address: 63 Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,comfortable, family run hotel with own private off road car park. Situated in pleasant residential street, overlooking Trinity Gardens & picturesque Trinity church, yet close to town centre & all local amenities. Convenient for Channel Tunnel & Dover ferries.Children & pets are welcome.Evening meals can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Folkestone
The Wycliffe Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing