We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wycliffe Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
US$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
45
44
14
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
44
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barb boff street parkingshort walkfriendly receptionstayed here for one nightsmall hotelfull english breakfastpleasant stayshort stayexcellent value for moneyfamily rooman overnight stayensuitelandladyhostsguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We used the hotel as we were on a stupid-o'clock chunnel train the following morning. Great value....the chain hotels want silly money......nice room, welcoming hosts, great sleep. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. Only a 10 minute early morning drive to the chunnel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gafthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Having just spent Monday night at the Wycliffe I have no hesitation in recommending it. I was greeted by Mike - on of the owners - who could not have been more obliging. The room was pretty small, but nicely maintained and more than adequate for my needs. The hotel also has an honesty bar, which was particularly welcome. The Wycliffe is not a party venue, but is ideal for well-behaved guests looking for some peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I looked on trip advisor to see where to book for a little weekend break. I saw the Wycliffe had a great rating so choose there. I was not disapointed. Very pleasant lady who took my booking. The room was spotless and a lovely en suite shower room. The breakfast was really good and was made to feel really welcome..If i visit again i would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: i had room 3 and this was a lovely cosy room with a great shower
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutch54186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our booking was taken at short notice and handled with ease. A grand old guest house run by Kate and Mike who made us feel welcome and were helpful about the local lie of the land. We had use of either of the two guest lounges. Breakfast was delicious. Excellent value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this charming little guesthouse for one night as accommodation before our ferry trip back to France. The decision was based on the good reviews, and we were not disappointed. Very friendly reception, a small, but recently refurbished and nicely appointed room and a very good breakfast. Nice touch: the honesty bar for self-service in the evening.
Should we travel to or from England again, this will definitely be our stopover.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KasperSolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews