We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasurable second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wycliffe Guest House
Ranked #10 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our second stay at Wycliffe when house hunting. Kate and Mike very welcoming. Clean, homely atmosphere. In the evening, it still being winter my wife and I elected to eat in rather than go out to a local restaurant. Mike cooked us up generous portions of good homely meals. Recommend the Wycliffe unhesitatingly. We'll stop there again, before our purchase in Folkestone is completed. If not driving the guest house is very close to Folkestone Central Station, convenient to for the town and bus station, and just a five minute walk to the Lees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the church at the back. Very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erskine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

stayed for one night on our way to channel tunnel - booked on the recommendations on trip advisor and were not disappointed. very friendly, pleasant hotel good breakfast and a short walk to a few pubs and restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Wycliffe while visiting my daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter in Folkestone. Because my daughter's flat was too small to accommodate an extra person for long, I spent three weeks at the Wycliffe. I had a small, but comfortable, room overlooking Trinity Gardens, with a small en-suite. While not modern, the Wycliffe was clean, and the service was great. It was within walking distance of town and my daughter's flat. Kate and Mike Sapsford were lovely hosts and provided helpful information regarding things to do and places to go. I was on a tight budget and the Wycliffe provided a pleasant home away from home for me at a very reasonable price. I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side overlook a lovely church and green space. The other side is street-side and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poemster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We used the hotel as we were on a stupid-o'clock chunnel train the following morning. Great value....the chain hotels want silly money......nice room, welcoming hosts, great sleep. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. Only a 10 minute early morning drive to the chunnel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gafthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Having just spent Monday night at the Wycliffe I have no hesitation in recommending it. I was greeted by Mike - on of the owners - who could not have been more obliging. The room was pretty small, but nicely maintained and more than adequate for my needs. The hotel also has an honesty bar, which was particularly welcome. The Wycliffe is not a party venue, but is ideal for well-behaved guests looking for some peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I looked on trip advisor to see where to book for a little weekend break. I saw the Wycliffe had a great rating so choose there. I was not disapointed. Very pleasant lady who took my booking. The room was spotless and a lovely en suite shower room. The breakfast was really good and was made to feel really welcome..If i visit again i would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: i had room 3 and this was a lovely cosy room with a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutch54186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our booking was taken at short notice and handled with ease. A grand old guest house run by Kate and Mike who made us feel welcome and were helpful about the local lie of the land. We had use of either of the two guest lounges. Breakfast was delicious. Excellent value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wycliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wycliffe Guest House

Address: 63 Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wycliffe Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly comfortable family run hotel with own private off road car park. Situated in a pleasant residential street overlooking Trinity Gardens & picturesque Trinity church, yet close to town centre & all local amenities. Convenient for Channel Tunnel & Dover ferries. Children & pets are welcome. Breakfast is served daily and evening meals can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Wycliffe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Folkestone
The Wycliffe Guest House Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing