We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portland Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
41
51
19
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
51
19
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooryogurtbar attached to the hotelbreakfast was continental stylesmall thingschest of drawerssized bedfew minutes walkbedroom doorbreakfast roomclean linenin fairnesslittle thingson arrivallovely roomnight's sleepenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

6 of us stayed in 3 rooms while in the area for a wedding and were all very pleased. The rooms were clean and well presented, the only slight downside was the shower was a bit lacking in power, it was nice and hot though. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. All this at such a cheap price, if we're ever needing to stay in the area again we would definitely stay at the Portland again!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Rooms very basic and above a noisy bar so all we could hear was screaming and shouting till early hours outside our room. Ok for young ones but not for a good nights sleep especially if you have an early start like we did. Room was dirty and was on to floor room which had a poor view, was four floors to top and had a bad smell. Was told this was a sewage problem and a joke was made that it keeps the rats away as they had had a problem with rat complaints!!! Not sure how true this was but didn't seem that staff had a customer first approach. Food was nice but there are lots of restaurants down the road, we went to a Chinese and it was lovely. Good location for the beach but very windy and the windows rattled. You get what you pay for here, great for young couples but not very classy if it is for a surprise etc, there is not even a reception area you have to walk through a broffle themed bar to get checked in. Not for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have family and friends in Folkestone, the hotel was perfect whilst I was visiting. Everywhere was clean! All the staff were polite and happy nothing was too much trouble. Everything worked nothing was damaged- with other hotels something normally is amiss! I honestly couldnt fault the place. I guess some people would prefer matching bedding, reception area and a lift but honestly Im very happy to find somewhere clean and friendly within my budget! Thankyou to Tin and staff x x

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

After staying in a less than ideal hotel up the road previously we decided to stay at the portland after having a fab meal in the scubar downstairs. This hotel is well worth a visit and restored our faith in folkestone hotels! The room was great with very comfortable bed, good sized shower room, huge tv, complimentary tea/coffee and water and breakfast was extensive and well cooked. The manager Donna is fun and friendly and goes out of her way to chat and make sure all is well, the co-owner Tin is a sweetheart and nothing is too much trouble. The staff in the bar are helpful, friendly and chatty and the food (especially the puddings) is gorgeous. We loved this hotel and would go back again in a flash. I would suggest people treat themselves and stay here for a friendly time on holiday.

Room Tip: Room 2 is close enough to the restaurant but far enough away from the music at a weekend. Huge room with great ensuite
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlehobo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I was travelling to France with a group of friends and needed an overnight stop before catching an early shuttle. Fed up with Premier Inn's ever increasing prices (£29 rooms - not ever available at the Folkestone PI, try £72), we looked on Trip Advisor for a reasonable B&B for five single rooms. As ever TA steered us right and The Portland seemed to be just what we wanted.

The ever cheerful Donna checked us in and showed us to our rooms. Steve in the bar was a great help with directions to a nearby restaurant where we were meeting up with others in our group. As we were leaving early the next day Donna arranged for a take away breakfast to be left in cool boxes outside one of our rooms - excellent service and way beyond what we were expecting.

I was in Room 2 which was large and airy, nice big bed, flat screen tv, small but perfectly equipped shower room & wc. The room was clean and nicely decorated. My room overlooked the car park of an adjacent hotel and I slept very well. Others in our group had rooms overlooking the front of the hotel and reported some noise from rowdy people in the early hours, not the hotel's fault but I would suggest you get a room at the back if you can.

All in all The Portland is a great B&B and I would not hesitiate to use it again when using the tunnel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can mean avoiding noise from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timelord1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews