We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at the Portland for 1 night and for the price it is good value, no frills, if you are looking for a reasonable place to rest your head that is clean, this is your place. Good service. It was above a bar however didn't have any trouble sleeping as didn't hear a peep and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    49
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
11
68
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel set in a quiet square next to the cliffs. Easy parking right outside or if arriving by train short taxi ride (3-4 pounds). You can walk down into Folkestone. My room was very clean and freshly decorated. It had en suite tv and free wi fi. Both nights I had a very peaceful good nights sleep. Breakfast was simple freshly prepared and plentiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. I received an email before I arrived explaining about the checking in procedure which other reviewers have commented on. I found check in absolutely fine. Would def stay there any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsmith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
si0584
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

we stayed here for one night and wished we could of stayed longer the location, the facilities and the hotel décor was great, but what makes this hotel stand out is the staff. Donna is a credit to the hotel and the industry there is nothing that she wont do to ensure you have a great stay even to the point of letting me in after the wife had inadvertently locked me out after I went to get a kebab!!!! due to the location ie, being right opposite the Leas Cliffe Hall we will be returning to the hotel for another great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si0584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisbech
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

we have just had our third five night stay at the portland and it is still as good as ever, we have stayed at other hotels and nothing comes up to the portland , the rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfasts are good, the staff are first class, Dean who served breakfast was new to the hotel but was excellent and made us feel at home. we will be back in the new year as we find the PORTLAND A HOME FROM HOME.

Thanks for a wonderfull stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

6 of us stayed in 3 rooms while in the area for a wedding and were all very pleased. The rooms were clean and well presented, the only slight downside was the shower was a bit lacking in power, it was nice and hot though. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. All this at such a cheap price, if we're ever needing to stay in the area again we would definitely stay at the Portland again!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Rooms very basic and above a noisy bar so all we could hear was screaming and shouting till early hours outside our room. Ok for young ones but not for a good nights sleep especially if you have an early start like we did. Room was dirty and was on to floor room which had a poor view, was four floors to top and had a bad smell. Was told this was a sewage problem and a joke was made that it keeps the rats away as they had had a problem with rat complaints!!! Not sure how true this was but didn't seem that staff had a customer first approach. Food was nice but there are lots of restaurants down the road, we went to a Chinese and it was lovely. Good location for the beach but very windy and the windows rattled. You get what you pay for here, great for young couples but not very classy if it is for a surprise etc, there is not even a reception area you have to walk through a broffle themed bar to get checked in. Not for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have family and friends in Folkestone, the hotel was perfect whilst I was visiting. Everywhere was clean! All the staff were polite and happy nothing was too much trouble. Everything worked nothing was damaged- with other hotels something normally is amiss! I honestly couldnt fault the place. I guess some people would prefer matching bedding, reception area and a lift but honestly Im very happy to find somewhere clean and friendly within my budget! Thankyou to Tin and staff x x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: 2-4 Langhorne Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Portland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Folkestone
The Portland Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing