We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend at the Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Folkestone B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“weekend at the Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice bright room on first flooor, lovely continental breakfast with lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar serves meals all day and is very popular with the locals as well as hotel guests. Close to shops. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and scores. We pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    49
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
68
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed at The Portland three times now & always found the staff very friendly & helpful, the room was very comfortable, clean & tidy as was the en-suite. Very good continental breakfast with scrambled egg on toast afterwards if you so wish. They do have disco music Saturday night but it has never kept me awake or disturbed me. It is in a good position right opposite The Lees, I will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: Room two very spacious with bed & sofa beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Many thanks for posting your review and thank you for staying with us once again. Glad we lived up to expectations. We do work hard to ensure that there is no noise from the bar so that you can have a peaceful night's sleep. Hopefully you will stay with us once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have always found the staff friendly. The rooms are simple and comfortable. We have tea, coffee and a tv. The bed is clean and comfortable too. We have never found it dirty. The breakfasts are lovely and plentiful. If you want five star then go and book one. But in my opinion this hotel is absolutely fine for a night or two. We shall be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for writing a great review! It pretty weell sums us up and hits the nail squarely on the head as to the service that we aim to provide. We like being cheerful and we like our guests to be happy. Thank you; see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Sorry to have to say this place is simply horrible. Our room at the top of several flights of stairs was simply dire and smelled musty. The cleanliness of the bedding was suspect (slightly crumpled) and there was an unappealing furry throw on the bed. Yuk. The bathroom was surprisingly modern but the level of cleanliness throughout this "hotel" made me wary and I left without showering next day - just a splash under a running tap. Downstairs is a karaoke bar - complete with barely-dressed clientele. It had the ambience of a bordello.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygal883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay as a base for visiting Kent. There are some very tatty hotels in the vicinity, and the Portland needs to tidy their frontage and replace some tired window decorations. That said, the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and bright. It is old fashioned, but I daresay all the hotels on The Leas are. The breakfast promised is continental, but they also offered as a cooked option egg on toast, in it's various varieties! The breakfast was well prepared and fresh. Overall, I do consider that the hotel is good value for money, and the staff friendly and efficient. If you want a base to explore Kent, this Hotel is a good choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at the Portland for 1 night and for the price it is good value, no frills, if you are looking for a reasonable place to rest your head that is clean, this is your place. Good service. It was above a bar however didn't have any trouble sleeping as didn't hear a peep and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel set in a quiet square next to the cliffs. Easy parking right outside or if arriving by train short taxi ride (3-4 pounds). You can walk down into Folkestone. My room was very clean and freshly decorated. It had en suite tv and free wi fi. Both nights I had a very peaceful good nights sleep. Breakfast was simple freshly prepared and plentiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. I received an email before I arrived explaining about the checking in procedure which other reviewers have commented on. I found check in absolutely fine. Would def stay there any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsmith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: 2-4 Langhorne Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Portland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Folkestone
The Portland Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing