We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hated everything about it”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2008

The first shock was finding our room was on the 4th floor with no lift, a fact we had not been informed of when booking over the telephone. The room was reached by a warren of narrow corridors and stairs, all of which looked tired and grubby .The double room was very small and shabby with an ensuite you could barely turn around in. There was no wardrobe, just 3 hangers hung from the picture rail. All this looked out onto a very unattractive view over the backs of buildings. Having decided we could not possibly spend a night in this ghastly room we approached the owner for a refund but our request was met with a definite no, even though the room would not have to be serviced again and we would not be having breakfast. He was not prepared to even refund part of the £55 we had paid. A very hostile and difficult owner - do not stay here unless it is totally unavoidable!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeighEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Portland Hotel in order to see the Australian Pink Floyd at Folkestone's Lees Cliff Hall. If I was reviewing the band I would be, even as a firm Floyd fan, awarding them 5 stars. But I am reviewing the hotel. So lets get on with it. .Once again, good points first.

If you are going to a gig at Lees Cliff Hall then the hotel is perfectly situated.It is literally just over the road. My first reaction when we entered the bar to check in was ' Oh God, what HAVE I done'.(Yes..I chose it ). However the check in was fine(efficient and courteous)and you are requested to pay at check in. We were taken through a small door at the back of the bar to our room(room number 4). We had requested a deluxe room that would be quieter and when we finally went to bed it WAS quiet. In spite of a very noisy bar we could barely hear a thing. The room itself was larger than expected, with a large bay window and a high ceiling. It was simply furnished with a double bed (comfortable enough), a sofa, an ottoman at the bottom of the bed, primrose yellow walls, watercolour paintings, two small tables and three chairs, tea and coffee making facilities.and a good old fashioned functionable Cathode Ray Tube television which received four terestrial channels with steadfast reliability. Oh..and an iron and an ironing board.Bathroom was slightly bigger than average and everything seemed clean. The curtains and the bedspread do seem a little faded. I think that if these were replaced, then this room would be very nice indeed. There is also a very handy hotel information book that is well presented.

Breakfast was in the form of a continental buffet style and was better than expected, served with great professionalism by a lady from the Czech Republic who was also very friendly.

Bad points: When we went back to change quickly just before going to the gig there was a rather unpleasant smell in the hallway inbetween the bar and our room. It was still there when we returned from the gig, and it was pretty foul to be honest, smelling rather like a sewer or at the very least some one who had been the victim of a VERY high fibre diet. Most unpleasant.

The bar IS very rowdy at night. My wife and I are very open minded so we were not fazed by the varied and eclectic clientele. It did not feel threatening and every one appeared to be having a good naturedly good time. It was too crowded for me though and so my wife and I retired to the quiet of our room and finished our drinks there.
When we went to draw the curtains we noticed that there had been water damage in two corners of the bay window that had been rather badly repaired, the result of which was a brown tide mark on the net curtains. And finally...please..do not choose room 4 for the view. It is AWFUL!!.
We had actually chosen this hotel for the Thai restaurant. Sadly it closed down about a month ago and has been replaced by a more english style menu.

In conclusion: At £70 per night ( for the deluxe room, others are cheaper)the Portland is too expensive for what it is, especially as there are many other hotels in the surrounding area to choose from. But it is functional enough for a gig, and there is an excellent curry house just down the Lees. The bed IS comfortable. But really the whole place really does need a little TLC to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Initially we found the staff friendly and the room spacious, bright adn comfortable. Be warned though; we were invited back for a few drinks after hours and after some aimiable chatter the co owner flipped and started shouting obsenities and threats and tried to throw us out. A helpful staff member managed to convince Lee to let us stay and came to our room later to apologise on the quiet (apparrantly this has happened before) however this ruined our weekend. We were shocked to be treated to the same abuse as we checked out the next day. No compensation was offered.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank casualrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

Stayed for a night in July.
We were slightly disconcerted to find ourselves checking in in a noisy, very young and funky bar. But all was well - our room was fresh and clean, facing the gardens with a peak of the sea and we heard no noise from downstairs at all. Parking looked like it might be a problem but wasn't. It was handy to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Conny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter les chambres 9 à 12. Les autres sont peut-être mieux entretenues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank feline79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
622 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wycliffe Guest House
The Wycliffe Guest House
#9 of 26 in Folkestone
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,841 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: 2-4 Langhorne Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Portland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Folkestone
The Portland Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing