We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kentish Delight”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kentish Delight”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Portland Hotel, friendly staff clean and comfortable room ... we had a room on the ground floor adjacent to the bar (street facing), we were warned about the possibility of noise .. of which we experienced none.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Much appreciated; thank you, thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    50
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
69
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel following a recommendation, room was very very clean simple and well presented little touches like bottled water and sweets ... Shower was amazing lots of hot water ... Breakfast was fantastic with friendly service and a fantastic pot of tea ... Personal service from the owner all in all a fantastic find and will certainly stay there again !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
So glad you enjoyed and thanks for your comments; particularly about breakfast :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked late and had an attic room - lots of stairs but staff asked if we needed any assistance etc. Room was clean and comfy for one night. We had a very early start and they asked if we needed a packed breakfast. We said we were veggies and at 4.30 am we were delivered a cold box containing 2 lovely bags of food!!
Nice touch.

Room Tip: book early as this a popular hotel for ferries to France.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thank you for your time taken in posting your review; sorry about the stairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel has very welcoming staff.They were consistently attentive and helpful. I was staying for four nights while I worked locally and room 2 was bright, nicely decorated, clean and large with biscuits with the tea and coffee and a bottle of water provided the first night too. There was a shower and a bidet in the en-suite. There was a large flat screen TV, two sofas and a table and chairs as well as the double bed. Although you check in at the bar on arrival, the staff are very good and will also provide guest parking permits at only £1 a time for 24 hrs so I was able to park directly outside easily. The hotel was quite separate to the bar and caused no disturbance. There was a separate entrance to the breakfast room on the lower floor. It was well lit with tables laid for enjoying breakfast. The breakfast is more than just a continental one. Cereals, yoghurt, fruit juice, meat and cheeses are available alongside muffins and fresh fruit. You can also have crumpets or croissants or scrambled egg on toast served to you. In the evening the bar serves food, which is of a good standard. There is a lot of choice at a reasonable price.
A really good stay and they couldn't have been more helpful even when I left without my case and had to arrange a courier to collect it. They obligingly attached labels and took care of it. Wonderful - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 2 was at the back on the first floor and very quiet and spacious. I think most of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Very many thanks for your most positive review; a great help to others to understand what we are able to provide. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night stay pre chunnel. Traveling on a motorbike. Secure under ground parking. Fabulous bar/grill. Room was clean and had everything. Service and staff well trained helpful and down to earth. Communication regarding booking brilliant. Breakfast was delicious defo book again xxxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Than you, thank you. Really good of you to post your review; a good boost for us all and we are most grateful. So glad we were able to make you comfortable and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Made a Tuesday overnight stop here before catching the ferry from Dover the next morning. The hotel was only 15 minutes from the Ferry Terminal

The room and en-suit was a good size, spotlessly clean, well equipped including a hair dryer and a nice touch of chocolates in the room. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night sleep

The room we stayed in was on the top floor which had two very steep staircases leading to it, but the young man at reception helped us with our luggage without needing to be asked, indeed all the staff was friendly and obliging

We had an evening meal in the Scuba Bar which had a private garden and patio area that lead out onto the street. The food was very good and reasonably priced

Breakfast was an unusual experience

A good choice of continental breakfast together with fresh fruit was provided as part of the tariff, the problem being there were no rolls or bread on offer to eat it with. Instead we were given the choice of ordering either scramble eggs, toast or a hot croissant

Despite the breakfast arrangements I would certainly stay here again and recommend a visit

Booked through Hotels.com

Room Tip: Take a room on the lower floors because ofthe steep staircases to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Glad you had a comfortable night's stay and thanks for the write up. Will review the breakfast arrangements and see if we can provide some rolls. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently had a very pleasant 3 night stay in the Portland Hotel.

A huge thankyou to all the staff, they are a credit to the hotel and especially the owners.

A special thankyou goes out to Lee, his continental breakfast was exceptional throughout our entire stay. His character shone through every morning and he made everyone within the dining room feel at ease and more importantly welcome. Thankyou

G & M

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are for the more able bodied person, has the are no lifts in the establishmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff-2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinMcSwiney, Owner at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello! Thanks for taking time out to post your review; much appreciated and will pass your comments on to Lee (co-owner) whom I know will be delighted. Sorry about the long climb; the only help we can give besides carrying luggage is to forewarn guests and to reflect the position of the rooms in the price. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,598 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: 2-4 Langhorne Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Portland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Folkestone
The Portland Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing