We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
41
51
19
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
51
19
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooryogurtbar attached to the hotelbreakfast was continental stylesmall thingschest of drawerssized bedfew minutes walkbedroom doorbreakfast roomclean linenin fairnesslittle thingson arrivallovely roomnight's sleepenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Having read various reviews on this and other sites we were not sure what to expect, but we needn't have worried. This was a most enjoyable stopover and our only regret was that we could not stop longer.

We arrived at about 2pm on a busy, sunny, Bank Holiday Monday and joined the huge bar queue in order to check in. The management and staff were all welcoming, cheerful and very helpful. Our room was towards the top of the hotel (which has no lift) but it was spacious with a bay window seating area. The bed was large and comfortable, with sweets left enticingly on the fluffy towels. The bathroom, although small, was newly refurbished and perfectly adequate.

Portland Hotel is situated on the corner of Langhorne Gardens and the promenade so it is most convenient for strolls either to the beach below or to the town centre, only a five minute stroll away. There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach, including McDonalds and KFC for those with children. We, however, plumped for the DBB option at the hotel and ate well from the Table d'Hote selection in the beautifully decorated downstairs restaurant. The hotel also offers a wide selection of food as bar meals or from the a la carte menu. Breakfast is available as a take out option for early channel hoppers.

The only down side is the parking. Spaces do become available late afternoon and evening, although a willing partner to stand in 'yours' while you get the car is advisable! There is a covered car park with meter a short stroll away, although this is locked at 9pm.

We will certainly stay here on our next trip across the channel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I read previous comments and was a little concerned, but went ahead anyway. The service, from the moment of booking, was faultless and friendly, including giving us advice on parking in the neighbourhood. Cheerful barman made check-in simple. Manager indicated room and also where breakfast would be served (we were warned from the outset that it was at the top and there was no lift, but kept us fit).
Room was small but impeccably clean, nicely decorated with great power shower. Incredibly quiet and views of the sea from the window. Breakfast was good and friendly service again.
With such low rates, you cannot expect the Ritz. I think if you book with a pragmatic attitude you should love it. Well done, Portland, for all the effort that goes into making a visitor's stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anglo-Belge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

The first shock was finding our room was on the 4th floor with no lift, a fact we had not been informed of when booking over the telephone. The room was reached by a warren of narrow corridors and stairs, all of which looked tired and grubby .The double room was very small and shabby with an ensuite you could barely turn around in. There was no wardrobe, just 3 hangers hung from the picture rail. All this looked out onto a very unattractive view over the backs of buildings. Having decided we could not possibly spend a night in this ghastly room we approached the owner for a refund but our request was met with a definite no, even though the room would not have to be serviced again and we would not be having breakfast. He was not prepared to even refund part of the £55 we had paid. A very hostile and difficult owner - do not stay here unless it is totally unavoidable!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeighEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Portland Hotel in order to see the Australian Pink Floyd at Folkestone's Lees Cliff Hall. If I was reviewing the band I would be, even as a firm Floyd fan, awarding them 5 stars. But I am reviewing the hotel. So lets get on with it. .Once again, good points first.

If you are going to a gig at Lees Cliff Hall then the hotel is perfectly situated.It is literally just over the road. My first reaction when we entered the bar to check in was ' Oh God, what HAVE I done'.(Yes..I chose it ). However the check in was fine(efficient and courteous)and you are requested to pay at check in. We were taken through a small door at the back of the bar to our room(room number 4). We had requested a deluxe room that would be quieter and when we finally went to bed it WAS quiet. In spite of a very noisy bar we could barely hear a thing. The room itself was larger than expected, with a large bay window and a high ceiling. It was simply furnished with a double bed (comfortable enough), a sofa, an ottoman at the bottom of the bed, primrose yellow walls, watercolour paintings, two small tables and three chairs, tea and coffee making facilities.and a good old fashioned functionable Cathode Ray Tube television which received four terestrial channels with steadfast reliability. Oh..and an iron and an ironing board.Bathroom was slightly bigger than average and everything seemed clean. The curtains and the bedspread do seem a little faded. I think that if these were replaced, then this room would be very nice indeed. There is also a very handy hotel information book that is well presented.

Breakfast was in the form of a continental buffet style and was better than expected, served with great professionalism by a lady from the Czech Republic who was also very friendly.

Bad points: When we went back to change quickly just before going to the gig there was a rather unpleasant smell in the hallway inbetween the bar and our room. It was still there when we returned from the gig, and it was pretty foul to be honest, smelling rather like a sewer or at the very least some one who had been the victim of a VERY high fibre diet. Most unpleasant.

The bar IS very rowdy at night. My wife and I are very open minded so we were not fazed by the varied and eclectic clientele. It did not feel threatening and every one appeared to be having a good naturedly good time. It was too crowded for me though and so my wife and I retired to the quiet of our room and finished our drinks there.
When we went to draw the curtains we noticed that there had been water damage in two corners of the bay window that had been rather badly repaired, the result of which was a brown tide mark on the net curtains. And finally...please..do not choose room 4 for the view. It is AWFUL!!.
We had actually chosen this hotel for the Thai restaurant. Sadly it closed down about a month ago and has been replaced by a more english style menu.

In conclusion: At £70 per night ( for the deluxe room, others are cheaper)the Portland is too expensive for what it is, especially as there are many other hotels in the surrounding area to choose from. But it is functional enough for a gig, and there is an excellent curry house just down the Lees. The bed IS comfortable. But really the whole place really does need a little TLC to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Initially we found the staff friendly and the room spacious, bright adn comfortable. Be warned though; we were invited back for a few drinks after hours and after some aimiable chatter the co owner flipped and started shouting obsenities and threats and tried to throw us out. A helpful staff member managed to convince Lee to let us stay and came to our room later to apologise on the quiet (apparrantly this has happened before) however this ruined our weekend. We were shocked to be treated to the same abuse as we checked out the next day. No compensation was offered.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank casualrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews