We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as i have come to expect of a premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“as i have come to expect of a premier inn”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

everything up to the usual premier inn standards, thats why i generally choose them if travelling and its not any kind of special occasion. always get what it says on the tin. room was really warm but we sorted that with a cold wet towel on the fan and a couple of cold drinks from the bar. breakfast was ok i guess although sausages were a little undercooked for my liking. other than that, all good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste33ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    410
    145
    47
    32
See reviews for
458
439
39
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overnight pit stop for the Channel Tunnel. Great clean fresh room, comfortable bed, very clean throughout. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable and offer instruction on reaching the tunnel. Would come back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Like a well-known fast food restaurant, you know what you're gonna get with Premier Inn. This hotel is split into two buildings, we were in the annex, which I believe is quieter, facing greenery towards the motorway direction.
I was a bit concerned having read the reviews about it being too hot, but on the day we arrived the temperature had been in the high teens and the room felt fine. The window only opened a couple of inches but a fan was provided. It did start to warm up a bit with us occupying, but didn't become uncomfortable. I can see how it would become hotter in the height of summer though with little ventilation.
Aside from that the bed was big and comfortable, very clean and spacious room, with a big tv and large bathroom with usual PI noisy bathroom fan! Friendly staff as usual with PI.
There was some noise from the motorway in the morning, as to be expected, we had breakfast and again after reading some of the reviews wasn't expecting greatness but it was perfectly adequate.
Plenty of free parking and easy to find from the M20, plus a Burger King, Mcdonalds, Sainsbury's etc nearby.
We got a good deal but with the lack of air-con I can see how some people would be disappointed if they'd paid 'full price' in summer to stay. Even a small budget chain hotel we stayed at in France had air-con in each room so I think PI need to invest in it here.
Apart from that a good safe choice for chunnel/ferry travellers.

Room Tip: Annexe seems quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here night before using the eurotunnel.Great location, good pub on the hotel site but was very busy (good sign) we travelled to a hungry hose pub for tea which was about a mile away also great value. The usual high standards from premier inn and would definitely use again.We had a family room and was very pleased with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We wanted a good nights sleep before our trip into France. The bed/pillow combination gave us that. Staff were friendly and took security seriously. Our main concern was the lack of air conditioning, a noisy bedroom fan and a even noisier bathroom extractor fan. Luckily it was a colder night than of late so we got away without the noise. A bit of investment could make this an excelent stop over hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conakry, Guinea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Folkestone is not an easy place for hotels... Many around but not many that are acceptable. Chose the Premier Inn for price as well as ease of access to the Dover ferries and were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious, well fitted and have a good bathroom. The annexe building even has a lift, there is loads of parking, an eatery and bar and nothing to do with the hotel but there is also a carwash and a Burger King in the corner. But what really made it for us was the staff. Great welcome by über friendly, pleasant and really helpful people.
Breakfast is a real must and should not be overlooked (plus it's all you can eat) and they have a great selection of fruits salads, etc...
Downside was the warmth of the rooms... No AC but there was a fan so not bad but then we did not have really nice weather so it was not too hot... Fan in the bathrooms makes a lot of noise... Seems they all do...
Well done to everyone there, you'll be seeing us again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrediREP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for one night, the room was an average Premier Inn room. The a only issue was that it was very hot in the room, there was a fan in the room though. The room was noisy from patrons of the pubs next door and did not quite ten down until late. All in all it was an Ok stay for one night.

Room Tip: Go for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Address: Cherry Garden Lane, Folkestone CT19 4AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steal a glimpse of France from the cliff-top promenade The Leas, five minutes down the road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Premier Inn
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing