We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stopped there 4th-6thDecember as part of a continental shopping trip.The greeting was warm and friendly,the staff polite and efficient and the cost very reasonable.Food was excellent and sufficient in quantity.Surprise visit by Father Christmas together with a present.A glass of wine and Christmas crackers one night.First class entertainment.Very basic but clean and comfortable.Only fault was bathroom had loose tiles on floor and it was almost impossible to get the water temperature right in the shower.The water was hot!!Bedroom was clean and comfortable with adequate electric heater.Also tea making facilities.A very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    104
    133
    103
    290
See reviews for
182
259
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For all you out there this hotel is tired but it has such a charm to it. Clean sheets heaters in the room , great place for a head down for the night, nice and quiet, and amazing soft bed.
Excellent staff, mick the man in reception was very helpful.
Breakfast was quick and ok .

Room Tip: We had room 118 , it over looked the rear car park, but was very quiet room it was a triple bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yardley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I am not a fusspot, see my other reviews but this hotel was awful, we were greeted by a man who was rowing with one of the staff on reception. There were a waiters clothes dropped in the car park under a tree which just sat there for the whole time. There were people dealing drugs in the car park and the whole place was run down and the entrance from the car park just looked derelict. The breakfast the next morning was served by a waitress with such a bad cough, probably from the damp in the basement. I decided the sausage and bacon was unlikely to be good so ordered a poached egg on toast, the toast was soggy and wet from the poaching and it must have been the cheapest bread you can buy. All in all a horrid experience which I won't be repeating and we paid extra for a sea view we had such high hopes !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

FRANCE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

On the plus side the hotel is very handy for Dover and the Channel tunnel, the staff were welcoming and helpful and it is in a super position over looking the sea.
Unfortunately there is nothing else good to say about the place. The rooms, we were shown two, were absolutely filthy it must have been weeks since they were cleaned. The window in one room was broken as was the furniture, paint was peeling off every where it was more like a squat than an hotel room.
It would appear that the hotel relies upon one off stays from people crossing the channel who need accommodation in the area the night before they travel. I would guess like us it was too much trouble for most people to try and find another room after a long drive to Kent. Without a doubt this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in even at its budget price it is unacceptable. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we left before it was served.

Room Tip: Rooms any where else would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLBFRANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

just stayed there with a coach party, read the reviews prior to the holiday , I must say the hotel is a little dated as said in them but not a problem, formost the hospitality of all who work there is exceptional, everyone who came enjoyed their stay and nothing was too much trouble for us, the food was good and always gave more if we asked, one hotel that would be visited again. thankyou the carlton for making our stay a pleasure, from Nottingham.

Room Tip: sea views are good but it has the sash wooden windows so a little noise on occasion is there but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is generally clean but the bedrooms are not very airy and have toilets which are noisy but the welcome was good and the breakfast was exceptional good for one night but not for a longer break parking just outside , also the funicular railway to the beach just opposite, the hotel is very near town and theatre.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

One night in here was by far enough, the beds stank of pee, there was water pouring through th ceiling in the hallway at 2am the next room had phoned manager and complained water was still running at 4,30am when we left the hotel, terrible nights sleep, toilet and shower needed a good scrub
NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,584 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing