We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place in need of a makeover”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
melksham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A place in need of a makeover”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was booked on a Just Go weekend that included a visit to Canterbury and Boulogne. This holiday had been advertised in their brochure as costing £89.99. As I needed a break, it was just the thing and I booked up. The £89.99 then became £116.99. As I was travelling alone and was allocated a single room, the price suddenly shot up by £27, plus a further £2.34 because I paid by credit card. This place is what would have been called seedy once upon a time, in desperate need of a makeover. Rotting window frames, the cold tap in my room ran (not dripped) constantly, the extractor fan didn't work because the switch above it had been turned off. When I switched it on I found out why, it never turned off. There was a severe storm on our first night and the TV aerial blew down. The TV never worked properly after that. It did in some rooms, but not in mine. I could go on. I took the brochure on the reception desk and it is nothing like the hotel. The staff were nice enough, but the place needs some work doing to it.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pen9175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    102
    127
    101
    287
See reviews for
179
254
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from a Just Go coach holiday, We had booked to stay at the Grand Burstin Hotel but due to ' operational reasons ' ? we were changed to the Carlton Hotel . Our first impression was not good, outside in serious need of painting.. friendly enough welcome, but room although clean and tidy needs updating and all beds should have mattress protectors !! Food was fine with a very good breakfast and good waitress service . We were dissapointed with the entertainment only being on two nights , monday act was ok thursday poor.The plus points were the drinks prices 99 p bar!! from 6- 9 and the location.. just a few steps from the high street

Room Tip: ask for ground floor rooms , as lift is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel has just been taken over by new management and they were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is dated but it's clean and the room we had was a decent size and overlooked the sea. We couldn't have asked for more at just £25 per room per night. The location is really good too - it's just round the corner from the high street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura848484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for a business trip with work, and I was off out all day, and my wife stayed there but we had the car in the car park every night, no problem, somewhere to eat etc if we wanted it, the bar was good, the entertainment was entertaining and overall we were very happy with it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stopped there 4th-6thDecember as part of a continental shopping trip.The greeting was warm and friendly,the staff polite and efficient and the cost very reasonable.Food was excellent and sufficient in quantity.Surprise visit by Father Christmas together with a present.A glass of wine and Christmas crackers one night.First class entertainment.Very basic but clean and comfortable.Only fault was bathroom had loose tiles on floor and it was almost impossible to get the water temperature right in the shower.The water was hot!!Bedroom was clean and comfortable with adequate electric heater.Also tea making facilities.A very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For all you out there this hotel is tired but it has such a charm to it. Clean sheets heaters in the room , great place for a head down for the night, nice and quiet, and amazing soft bed.
Excellent staff, mick the man in reception was very helpful.
Breakfast was quick and ok .

Room Tip: We had room 118 , it over looked the rear car park, but was very quiet room it was a triple bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yardley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I am not a fusspot, see my other reviews but this hotel was awful, we were greeted by a man who was rowing with one of the staff on reception. There were a waiters clothes dropped in the car park under a tree which just sat there for the whole time. There were people dealing drugs in the car park and the whole place was run down and the entrance from the car park just looked derelict. The breakfast the next morning was served by a waitress with such a bad cough, probably from the damp in the basement. I decided the sausage and bacon was unlikely to be good so ordered a poached egg on toast, the toast was soggy and wet from the poaching and it must have been the cheapest bread you can buy. All in all a horrid experience which I won't be repeating and we paid extra for a sea view we had such high hopes !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing