We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Don't know what room the people who left excellent reviews stopped in,but ours was filthy.
Went on a coach trip, but when we saw hotel ,we wish we had cancelled.
Our room had windows with tissue stuffed in gaps.A window was just hanging very dangerously in the pane,with a half inch gap at the top,
Mould in the bathroom that looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in years.
the shower didn't work properly.
We stopped in a room with a "sea View".we couldn't see the view because of the filthy windows and dirty net curtains.
Fair enough there was scaffolding outside ,so expect a little mess,but it looked as though it had been like that for a very long time.
The only good thing was the waiter .he was very friendly,and kept smiling even under pressure.
One review said that some people are too fussy and shouldn't expect much from a budget hotel.
However,we have stopped in a few budget hotels' and have never seen one as bad as this.
Don,t know how old the photos are that promote the hotel,but they must have been taken just after a refurb,because i can assure you that they are not true to form.
Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 307GAYNORW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

And either we stayed at a completely different Carlton Hotel in Folkestone, or there are a lot of people out there that are very easy to please, and used to extremely shabby surroundings! Granted, the hotel was once grand and beautiful. It is in very poor condition now though. The door didn't close properly, and did not lock. The bed was saggy. The curtains were absolutely filthy, and would not stay closed. The window wouldn't open. The shower was a tiny box, and the water alternated between hot and cold. One of the most miserable showers I've ever had.

I went to make tea, but the kettle was so disgusting that I didn't bother. The elevator was the smallest I have ever seen in my life, and since we had heavy backpacks, we decided to take the elevator. The two of us with packs on literally barely fit. It was kind of exciting in a terrifying sort of way to make it up to our room.

We did not eat here, so I cannot comment on the food. We were directed to park our car in back of the hotel, and ended up with the car deeply mired in mud. I'm not difficult to please when it comes to a hotel room. All I ask is for a clean room in a safe area. I was not happy with this place at all. It was just so shabby and run down, it reminded me of an old hotel on skid row that is now used for cheap apartmentments for down and outs.

This room was, however, cheap. 32 pounds for the night. So, you get what you pay for. If you aren't overly fussy with the state of the room or bathroom, then it may be a good enough place to spend the night. I was happy to leave first thing the next morning. I do hope someone will invest in this old place and restore it to its original glory. It could be beautiful again. It is tired and run down in its present state though.

Room Tip: The view facing the sea is lovely, and we could see the lights of France at night. The stars were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Incredibly helpful staff. New young owner from Hilton London on charge makes the difference!
Will stop over again & will recommend to my friends. New Car park available.Very close to Eurotunnel, smashing for road trips !

Room Tip: Most of the rooms got lovely sea view to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stay in Folkestone quite often <normally at Grand Burstin.- and no complaints> but felt like a change and Carlton Hotel came up on various websites as more than competatively priced. We had considered this hotel previously but had been put off by the unkempt exterior (in reality the exterior appears worse on arrival than website photos). However do not be put off by this as the inside although having seen better days is most welcoming. New owner/Manager Kevin and his family have great plans and make this venue well worth a visit. Whilst there are several hotels on The Leas this is possibly the best situated as being closest to the town centre <a few minutes level walk>plus a good sized car park (free at present) ,wonderful views to the front. We were booked in by Kevin and had a good sized first floor room (lift access) well furnished, comfortable bed and loads of tea and coffee. Slight problem with a bedside light but Kevin eager to put right. Next morning the restaurant on the lower floor provided a freshly cooked waitress service breakfast-what a lovely room. Wealso sampled the bar on two nights and this has an adjoining room for other pursuits. Please do not expect a five star hotel but for a value for money hotel offering personal service do give it a try.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have been to the Carlton before, and think it's a friendly place. The food is very good, with vegetarian options. There was a 99p bar 6-9pm.

Its situation on the Leas with a short walk into town, is ideal, and you can see the lights of France in the evening.

We really enjoyed our short break.

Room Tip: Ground floor as there is only one lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was booked on a Just Go weekend that included a visit to Canterbury and Boulogne. This holiday had been advertised in their brochure as costing £89.99. As I needed a break, it was just the thing and I booked up. The £89.99 then became £116.99. As I was travelling alone and was allocated a single room, the price suddenly shot up by £27, plus a further £2.34 because I paid by credit card. This place is what would have been called seedy once upon a time, in desperate need of a makeover. Rotting window frames, the cold tap in my room ran (not dripped) constantly, the extractor fan didn't work because the switch above it had been turned off. When I switched it on I found out why, it never turned off. There was a severe storm on our first night and the TV aerial blew down. The TV never worked properly after that. It did in some rooms, but not in mine. I could go on. I took the brochure on the reception desk and it is nothing like the hotel. The staff were nice enough, but the place needs some work doing to it.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pen9175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from a Just Go coach holiday, We had booked to stay at the Grand Burstin Hotel but due to ' operational reasons ' ? we were changed to the Carlton Hotel . Our first impression was not good, outside in serious need of painting.. friendly enough welcome, but room although clean and tidy needs updating and all beds should have mattress protectors !! Food was fine with a very good breakfast and good waitress service . We were dissapointed with the entertainment only being on two nights , monday act was ok thursday poor.The plus points were the drinks prices 99 p bar!! from 6- 9 and the location.. just a few steps from the high street

Room Tip: ask for ground floor rooms , as lift is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,782 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.5 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 16/19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £17 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing