We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tramps doss house”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
bracknell berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tramps doss house”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

this hotel is a shambles we stayed from friday to monday was glad to get home the rooms a filthy, bed linen was clean but blankets were smelly the matress was full of peoples dead skin and fluff !!!!!!! food was bad and we ate out as it was bad , staff were ok but it was a could not care attitude people we smoking in the hotel as we smelled smoke constantly on the landings ,do not go there unless you want to experiance what its like to be a tramp, furniture in rooms was fit for the dump sink was not clean had to go out and buy wet wipes hand marks everywhere, my headboard was rank i had to put a sheet over it was full of other peoples greasy hair and it was also on the walls ..........

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindamay1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    102
    127
    101
    287
See reviews for
179
254
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having had an enjoyable break last year in Folkstone at Britannia Busrstin with David Urquhart Travel, I was looking forward to this break with again with David Urquhart. Our hotel had been changed at the last minute from Southcliff Hotel to Carlton Hotel. When i got to my room it messured 72inch x 151inch (my hall is larger than this room). First thing i noticed no central heating - elecrtric fire was broken with wires exposed. On sitting on my bed it had seen better days and was not fit to sleep on. I went to reception and asked to change rooms - no rooms available. The fire was changed. Bathroom tiny - shower curtain not long enough. Towels were thin and small. Shower head small and caked with limescale. Warm/cold water - never hot. Legionnaire's disease came to mind. Thin blanket on bed had to ask for another.
Walls paper thin. Fire doors banging. Stair carpets stretched - very dangerous as i missed my footing and nearly fell. Restaurant was ok - cheap food - could do better. After three days of uncomfortable sleeping, I pulled my bedding back to expose a very badly blood stained bed. No mattress protector. I aked again for bed to be changed which it was. My extra blanked was now used as a mattress protector!!! Had to ask for another blanket. After the worst night sleep i have ever had on unforgiving bed, I awoke to find a LIVE FLEA on bed!!! That was it - I walked and and moved to Southcliff Hotel for my last night of holiday. The only comment the manager saId on my leaving - Would you like another room!!! We have done everything you asked!!!! No apology. As a world wide traveller, I have never had a room/hotel as bad as this one.I feel very sorry for visitors who book into this hotel expecting good standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Droopydraws27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we have just got back from here we were on a coach trip, everything about it was run down and filthy, our rooms were not cleaned all the time we were there, the sheets were clean but that was all all the other bedding was dirty, bathroom dirty too. The food left a lot to be desired, the hotel is being renovated but I dont think they should be open while the renovation is going on, very disappointing trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have just got back from this hotel, we were a party of 4, the rooms are filthy, there is no hot water, only a small electric fire as heating, windows stuffed with paper to keep out the wind which did not work, workmen looking in at you all the time as they are bodgeing up the outside, the food is horrible tastes funny we ate out after first day , my brother in law was violently sick after the first breakfast, the waiters had thumbs in peoples meals, worse than fawlty towers at best, dont waste your money going to this hotel as when you complain about there not being any hot water (we had none in our room the 4 days we were there) they say try this it might work. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. THIS HOTEL SHOULD NOT BE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glyn408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

dirty rooms electrical sockets hanging off and food awful after breakfast my husband was ill.Toilet paper not replaced had to buy our own.My sister and brother in law also had workmen let into the room without being asked

Room Tip: None off the rooms are any different
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The average rating is applicable only because the hotel is under renovation. The hotel owner, 'Kevin' has had to let rooms while large scale renovation of the hotel takes place, hopefully by the summer. Currently the rooms to front don't appear to be let, but the rooms to rear are adequate, and clean.The car-park to rear is basic. I believe he needs praise for making it work while under these changes. The beds are 'firm!' but if you are like us needing a bed for one night before crossing the channel then you can cope. The big upside for us was the inclusive full breakfast that was more than adequate. At last a chef who can cook eggs! And all this for £25 all in! Well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Don't know what room the people who left excellent reviews stopped in,but ours was filthy.
Went on a coach trip, but when we saw hotel ,we wish we had cancelled.
Our room had windows with tissue stuffed in gaps.A window was just hanging very dangerously in the pane,with a half inch gap at the top,
Mould in the bathroom that looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in years.
the shower didn't work properly.
We stopped in a room with a "sea View".we couldn't see the view because of the filthy windows and dirty net curtains.
Fair enough there was scaffolding outside ,so expect a little mess,but it looked as though it had been like that for a very long time.
The only good thing was the waiter .he was very friendly,and kept smiling even under pressure.
One review said that some people are too fussy and shouldn't expect much from a budget hotel.
However,we have stopped in a few budget hotels' and have never seen one as bad as this.
Don,t know how old the photos are that promote the hotel,but they must have been taken just after a refurb,because i can assure you that they are not true to form.
Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 307GAYNORW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing