We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atleast it had a bed”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 15 July 2014

first thing I need to say is that no matter what I say, our night was solely for travelling purposes and only cost us £27 for two of us so there's not really any room to complain.

Positives:
- The staff meant well
- Good location for the train to calais
- Very close to the town centre

Negatives:
- Very dirty interior and exterior
- old furniture left all over the place outside, I'm assuming this is the same furniture that a previous reviewer mentioned on their stay 2 months before ours
- bathroom hadn't been flushed from the previous person/maid. showed huge lack of cleanliness by cleaning staff.
- The bathroom felt so dirty, had visible mold and extractor fan was blocked with dust - because of this we didn't shower and I brushed my teeth using a bottle of water
- walls are paper thin, I was woken up by people in the coridoors and next door room (I'm a relatively good sleeper usually)
- TV made a very loud noise constantly and stayed stuck on one channel

two other things to note, the hotel has parking and wifi but I wouldn't count on either, we took the last "space" in the car park when we arrived and the wifi worked but was too slow to be a selling point

all in all next time we need a train to france we decided we'd pay the extra and stay somewhere we atleast felt comfortable to shower, but the £27 did provide us with a bed for the night.

Room Tip: There is a premier inn in the same town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJG179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ideal for the Channel Tunnel and certainly ticked the box for being convenient for the Town Centre. Rooms dirty and although we were supposed to be in a twin room, due to a cock-up on the room allocation we ended up in a treble made up of one single and a double for three chaps.

Pointed it out to the Manager who asked if it was a problem and when I suggested that it wasn't what we had booked, he volunteered to put pillows down the middle. Had this been done, there would not have been enough room in the bed for the other two guys.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodders57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose this hotel as it was handy for the ferry from Dover. We left at ten and were in the queue after half an hour. The hotel is tired but for one night it was adequate. The breakfast was fine, full English or Continental style. It is in a quiet location on the sea front. Sea-view rooms are the best. The owner is up-grading the hotel starting on the outside. Couldn't expect any more for the price we paid. (Under £40). Friendly staff. Clean bathroom and bedding.

Room Tip: As above...Sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Avoid at all costs. The room, the lobby the bar were all terrible. The room was dirty and the bathroom had a considerable amount of mold and the suite was old in the 70's. No hot water either.The wardrobe for the ajoining room protruded in to our room and was attached to the back of our wardrobe. (see attached photos)This is the first time that I made the mistake of not reading the reviews but it will not happen again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were not expecting luxury accommodation for the price we paid, but were not prepared for the level of delapidation and shabbiness of this hotel. It has a magnificent position but has been run down to such an extent that you feel the room and ensuite are grubby, even though on close inspection, they were actually quite clean. We wanted somewhere close to the Channel tunnel for a speedy getaway but were disappointed to find out that breakfast was served at 7.30, too late to make an early crossing. Worst of all, the walls between the rooms are so thin that we were disturbed by loud talking in the room next door and by the
occupants' television, which they kindly left on while they went out! Take earplugs is our advice.

On reflection, we remembered that we had a booked another seaside hotel on a voucher earlier in the year for only a couple of pounds more, had a wonderful room, breakfast and
superb service. The owners really need to think about renovating the place, if they want return bookings. We would not recommend this hotel or ever go back ourselves until we were sure changes had been made.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

the hotel was grubby all round, service on arrival not good.
both mattresses on beds in the twin room we occupied were torn qite badly
shower water did not clear away quickly, sink was cracked.

fire exit of dining room was blocked with furniture etc that had been dumped outside.

with a good facelift the hotel could do really well as it location is excellent

breakfast just passable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked a room from this hotel just because of location near Dover and ferries...and because of the price. So, I wasn't expecting anything luxorious. Like so many other has already said, the hotel wasn't in the best shape anymore. Location was excellent and the view from the front door magnifient..to the sea, that is. Unfortunately our window faced to the backyard and parking place. I booked the room via Hotels.com and my reservation didn't show in their system. Luckily I had a printed version of the confirmation with me and we got the room after some negotiation. The lift to the second floor was really small and noisy. Two bit bigger persons and luggage did fit in the lift only after deep breeth in and holding the breath whole time during the trip to the second floor.
Room was very basic but clean and en-suite. Unfortunately the lift's machine room was next to our room and kept me awake half the night. The second half of it was spoiled by a group of German students having fun in their rooms and corridor. Luckily the night portier came and teached them some manners. After not so well slept night the breakfast in the restaurant in the basement was really good just like the service.
If You are just looking for a cheap accomodation without any big hopes, this might be your place.

Room Tip: don't take the room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £24 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing