We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is so tired it is fast asleep”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Emmmmmm how they can call it an Hotel beggars belief.Unfortunately the worst review I have given out of many stays elsewhere.The view over the Channel is the only saving grace!However you can get this view by standing outside on The Leas.Dont ask for a lager they have just run out!Etc etc

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Such a shame this lovely building has been so neglected. The only things which were clean were the bed sheets and towels. The owners really need to get proper cleaners in as obviously the one's they have now are not doing their job. My advice is to not go here as it is filthy. It is very sad as the hotel is in such as great position and could be wonderful if looked after. Alex Polizzi Hotel Inspection is needed here..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I agree with most of what other reviewers are saying regarding shabbiness and generally being old and dirty. And yes, our room was old and not very clean, bed was tired and worn out, I could not sleep very well because of an itch.
However, I do not feel like just 'shooting down' the hotel and telling everyone to 'avoid'. Here are the reasons.
We have only paid £35 (2 people), that's £17.50 each person. That is the kind of price you pay for an equally shabby youth hostel. Well, some youth hostels might be more modern and cleaner than Carlton, but still... Think like this, for this price we got:
- own room and bathroom
- we had a fantastic sea view!!
- tea/coffee facilities (usually don't get than in youth hostels)
- full English breakfast (+ cereals and juice)
- TV with Freeview (again, usually don't get than in youth hostels)
- great location, close to the beach, town centre etc...

So, I think it all depends on how much you pay and how you look at it. I personally was grateful for what we received for the price we paid.
Although, I think, 1 night was enough....

There is a young girl working at reception. She was so friendly, kind and super helpful. Thank you! 2 breakfast staff, we also briefly met 1 cleaning staff, they also were very nice and pleasant, thank you. I just wanted to mention this, because despite the poor condition of the building itself, despite bad reviews, there are some good people working in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Disgusting absolutely vile should be shut down rude unhelpful people rooms mouldy smells like rotten drains and sewage do not stay here bugs on the wall health and safety hazard food cold and inedible am deffo going to health and safety and trading standards vile vile vile

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbellglitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Carlton Hotel – 10 June – 4 nights

We booked this hotel using Hostelworld.com – the price was very good - 107 pounds for 4 nights in June and included breakfast according to the booking confirmation. However, when we arrived at the hotel the owner of the hotel said we could not have breakfast as the price we were paying was too low to include a meal. I wasn’t too pleased and wrote to the manager attaching the booking confirmation but have not yet had a response.

We were allocated room 211 at the back of the hotel, a rather poky room with sash windows (sash broken) - the top window was nailed shut, the bottom half of of the window opened but had to be held up with a piece of wood (provided) – I am sure this is against H&S regulations as fingers are at risk when closing the window. There was tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of hot water in the shower and a large supply of spare toilet rolls……. The TV was tiny but there was some Freeview channels although the picture did not fill the screen – a member of staff tried to sort it but was unable to.

The double bed was so, so uncomfortable - it was difficult to find any part of the mattress where a spring had not sprung! The bedding was clean and towels were provided. There was a small wardrobe and hangers. The room and the public areas of the hotel were clean. There is a tiny lift.

The hotel has free WiFi in public areas but not in the rooms unless you are on the first floor I believe. The hotel has a bar and a dance floor and there is live entertainment a couple of nights during the week. If you are with a coach party drinks are only a pound each (exceptional value for a pint of beer or a gin and tonic) but if you are just an ordinary traveller, you will be charged normal bar prices!

There is a car park at the back of the hotel which is very useful – the management could improve this space by cutting back the trees and getting rid of the rubbish – there are not too many spaces so it’s first come first served.

The hotel is on The Leas, 5 minutes from the centre of town and the harbour so its location is perfect. The bus and train stations are within easy walking distance too.

The owner is fairly new and is doing his best to upgrade the hotel (I saw new mattresses being delivered), it’s not luxury but it is clean, suitable for a one night stopover enroute to the continent and very affordable.

Room Tip: Ask the Receptionist if you can see the room before you agree to take it as I am sure some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OnieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The Carlton Hotel it's more like a half way house then a hotel. Mould on the walls & windows in the bathroom & bedroom. Toliet seat was broke,dirty wool blanket that probably came from the local charity shop. Old & worn lino in the bathroom. And you could feel the springs coming through the mattress. The one good thing about this hotel is the location the room we stayed in overlooked the English Channel. This hotel is very shabby and dated it desperately needs redecorating I would have been better sleeping in my car do not waste your money £50 for one night it's a disgrace.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you can get the room for £20-£30 it may be worth it for a pit stop as they have parking of sorts our the back. we were ripped to the tune of £100 for a twin room in a busy weekend in July. it took 45 mintes before we could check in and the room was rank and was surely one of the reasons we British want to travel abroad.
The electric shower was an accident waiting to happen, either cold or scalding hot but nothing should surprise you when you walk into this place.
The pictures posted by others are accurate of what you will get. we were not able to get breakfast at 9.30am on Saturday as 'breakfast finished at 9.00am' and nobody will tell you this. We booked through Hotels.com and they are inept in the extreme as the booking was apparently cancelled two hours before we arrived so if you want to be sure of your booking book direct but ideally with another hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for Travelodge or Premier Inn its so much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,782 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.5 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 16/19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £17 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing