We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant chaos” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
1 review
“Restaurant chaos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Unbelivable needs a major overhaul !!! Certainly an experience from start to finish!!! Wouldn't stay here again........ After reading reviews it's all true, but I can't believe no one mentioned the breakfast tables that are left with dirty plates etc then the staff eat their breaki whilst guests still eating too!!!! Not a good impression!!! I won't repeat as everything else has already been said!! If u want cheap and cheerful this is ideal for u! If u want class book elsewhere!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    96
    122
    97
    267
See reviews for
169
237
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My company booked me and a colleague to stay for one night in July. Fab location with free parking behind hotel. We checked in and found our room through a maze of corridors. On opening the door it promptly fell off its hinges. The smell from the bathroom was horrible. Black mould covered the ceiling.

At breakfast my collegue pointed out to the waitress that there was dog faeces on the carpet. She promptly got rid of it with some kitchen towell. I also couldn't eat my cereal as the milk had gone off.
Overall a disastrous stay and will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Emmmmmm how they can call it an Hotel beggars belief.Unfortunately the worst review I have given out of many stays elsewhere.The view over the Channel is the only saving grace!However you can get this view by standing outside on The Leas.Dont ask for a lager they have just run out!Etc etc

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Such a shame this lovely building has been so neglected. The only things which were clean were the bed sheets and towels. The owners really need to get proper cleaners in as obviously the one's they have now are not doing their job. My advice is to not go here as it is filthy. It is very sad as the hotel is in such as great position and could be wonderful if looked after. Alex Polizzi Hotel Inspection is needed here..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I agree with most of what other reviewers are saying regarding shabbiness and generally being old and dirty. And yes, our room was old and not very clean, bed was tired and worn out, I could not sleep very well because of an itch.
However, I do not feel like just 'shooting down' the hotel and telling everyone to 'avoid'. Here are the reasons.
We have only paid £35 (2 people), that's £17.50 each person. That is the kind of price you pay for an equally shabby youth hostel. Well, some youth hostels might be more modern and cleaner than Carlton, but still... Think like this, for this price we got:
- own room and bathroom
- we had a fantastic sea view!!
- tea/coffee facilities (usually don't get than in youth hostels)
- full English breakfast (+ cereals and juice)
- TV with Freeview (again, usually don't get than in youth hostels)
- great location, close to the beach, town centre etc...

So, I think it all depends on how much you pay and how you look at it. I personally was grateful for what we received for the price we paid.
Although, I think, 1 night was enough....

There is a young girl working at reception. She was so friendly, kind and super helpful. Thank you! 2 breakfast staff, we also briefly met 1 cleaning staff, they also were very nice and pleasant, thank you. I just wanted to mention this, because despite the poor condition of the building itself, despite bad reviews, there are some good people working in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbyfleet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Disgusting absolutely vile should be shut down rude unhelpful people rooms mouldy smells like rotten drains and sewage do not stay here bugs on the wall health and safety hazard food cold and inedible am deffo going to health and safety and trading standards vile vile vile

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbellglitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Carlton Hotel – 10 June – 4 nights

We booked this hotel using Hostelworld.com – the price was very good - 107 pounds for 4 nights in June and included breakfast according to the booking confirmation. However, when we arrived at the hotel the owner of the hotel said we could not have breakfast as the price we were paying was too low to include a meal. I wasn’t too pleased and wrote to the manager attaching the booking confirmation but have not yet had a response.

We were allocated room 211 at the back of the hotel, a rather poky room with sash windows (sash broken) - the top window was nailed shut, the bottom half of of the window opened but had to be held up with a piece of wood (provided) – I am sure this is against H&S regulations as fingers are at risk when closing the window. There was tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of hot water in the shower and a large supply of spare toilet rolls……. The TV was tiny but there was some Freeview channels although the picture did not fill the screen – a member of staff tried to sort it but was unable to.

The double bed was so, so uncomfortable - it was difficult to find any part of the mattress where a spring had not sprung! The bedding was clean and towels were provided. There was a small wardrobe and hangers. The room and the public areas of the hotel were clean. There is a tiny lift.

The hotel has free WiFi in public areas but not in the rooms unless you are on the first floor I believe. The hotel has a bar and a dance floor and there is live entertainment a couple of nights during the week. If you are with a coach party drinks are only a pound each (exceptional value for a pint of beer or a gin and tonic) but if you are just an ordinary traveller, you will be charged normal bar prices!

There is a car park at the back of the hotel which is very useful – the management could improve this space by cutting back the trees and getting rid of the rubbish – there are not too many spaces so it’s first come first served.

The hotel is on The Leas, 5 minutes from the centre of town and the harbour so its location is perfect. The bus and train stations are within easy walking distance too.

The owner is fairly new and is doing his best to upgrade the hotel (I saw new mattresses being delivered), it’s not luxury but it is clean, suitable for a one night stopover enroute to the continent and very affordable.

Room Tip: Ask the Receptionist if you can see the room before you agree to take it as I am sure some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.5 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing