We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at All Costs”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid at All Costs”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There is nothing positive I can about this hotel, from the minute I arrived I was gutted and knew I had made a big mistake booking from the outside it looks a great hotel but once inside you'll see what a difference. I pre-booked a Twin Room and was given the key from reception then headed up to the room where once in I found there was only a single bed, so I went back to Reception and advised of this to be told no that is defiantly a twin room, by now I was far from impressed so the manager sent the receptionist up to check not believing what I had already said, so I asked could I be moved to another room I was told then the hotel was fully booked and they would bring another bed into the room, so after about 20 minutes this happend and the bed came in followed mattress, pillow, sheets & duvet. Also worth noting is the bathroom door would only close 1/2 way as it was getting stuck on the uneven floor one of the the room was higher than the other it was like the floor was slowly falling away. The hotel also advised there was free Wi-Fi and upon the in the room I was in the signal dropped all together it was that bad I couldn't even making telephone call.

A point not relating to the stay would also be work man who were carrying out exterior works to the hotel level with the room I was in had scaffolding and no Health & Safety equipment in use, from outside the building after I decided to go and explorer Folkestone I looked up with Binoculars to see what works were been done and all the men started to look nervous and hid away from view. A really dodgy place in my opinion and one I certainly will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    99
    125
    100
    281
See reviews for
176
246
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Unsafe; holes in walls; banisters held together with Duct Tape; no restaurant or eating facilities; bar staff would charge what they wanted and would not give change; windows would not open or close; car park was like a scrap yard; TV in room did not work; shower could only be used by turning a mains tap on via the pipes in the bathroom. Dirty facilities with lots of insects crawling around bar and tables. Our group of 24 people (including children) stayed for one night and we all complained. Couples were arriving after us and were not even checking in due to the conditions. The photographs on the Carlton Hotel website are nothing like the actual hotel itself. Would not recommend this hotel unless you are desperate.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and book something safer and cleaner.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We read some very bad reviews before we arrived, but we were still amazed by the incompetency and dishonesty of the staff here. What a farce. Things went wrong from the moment we arrived - when we were told that our room was being changed to one *much* smaller than the one we paid for, and that the wifi, seaviews and bathtub we had paid for were not going to be there. We would, however, still need to pay the same price. We tried to get a discount but ended up exhausted and insulted. A very unpleasant experience, but we can't say we weren't warned!

Room Tip: book on the side with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had asked the hotel to reserve us 2 parking spaces, this did not happen and as a result we had to park around 500 meters away, the hotels carpark at the rear was full of around 5 ambulances, the carpark surface needed reviving but i think the ambulances where not there for that. I encountered a 5 inch deep pot hole and there where meany more it was not lit and i fell down the biggest one. The hotel signage was almost none existent, this made finding the hotel very hard. we drove past it 5 times.
We where allocated a double room and not a twin like we had booked, this was changed but this just confirms the hotels staff have very little regard for their guests.
both the rooms we where given and all the communal areas where very dated and where at least 10 years overdue a lick of paint, the garden at the front was aroud 4 feet overgrown and was being cleared as we left.
if i hadnt have paid in advance for this stay, ie if it where a pay on checkout policy i would not have paid and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were small and simply furnished, but adequate. Lovely location, directly facing the sea. Breakfast was delicious and served promptly since we had an early ferry to board the next morning. Overall, a simple yet satisfying and ideal stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good points.clean sheets,clean towels,nice staff,location,seaview,bad points furniture,decoration,bed,tv.The manager was very nice and offered us a choice of rooms we chose the seaview which was lovely,there is work being done on the hotel at the moment but it will take time as it is so big,it is a beautiful building that needs restoring and they are trying there best,a trip from the hotel inspector would help(note to manager).The breakfast was cereal juice etc you made your own toast which was unusual,the breakfast was poor quality and eggs could only be fried!!!my main concern was the stairs to the dining room they are in a state of near collapse so would advise anyone to use the lift(only fits 2 people) all in all you get what you pay for,so much potential but not enough money to reach it,i wish the manager all the best with the improvements and can see he is doing all he can,good luck i hope it is restored back to its former glory.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Unbelivable needs a major overhaul !!! Certainly an experience from start to finish!!! Wouldn't stay here again........ After reading reviews it's all true, but I can't believe no one mentioned the breakfast tables that are left with dirty plates etc then the staff eat their breaki whilst guests still eating too!!!! Not a good impression!!! I won't repeat as everything else has already been said!! If u want cheap and cheerful this is ideal for u! If u want class book elsewhere!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing