We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes Fawlty towers look like the Savoy!”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Makes Fawlty towers look like the Savoy!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is all i've got to say,
There were two good things about this hotel,
The water was hot,
And the sheets were clean.
Very Bad!!!
Says here I need to write some more, Well have you ever seen a toothless, greasey sweaty looking waiter, theres one in this hotel

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    99
    125
    100
    281
See reviews for
176
246
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Carlton is a nice little beachfront hotel. The staff there have been very helpful especially when I asked for a room with a beach view, the breakfast was served fast and the new owned is a very professional young man. The rooms a relatively small but very clean and the overall atmosphere is welcoming.
I recommend this hotel for everyone stopping by Folkestone for a few nights, amateurs of nice landscapes and people looking for a cheaper alternative to the very pricy London.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the beach are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfred r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend never setting foot inside this disgusting excuse for board and lodging. Everything about the place was filthy. Old, smelly, dirty pillows, broken toilet, broken tv, no wifi, and the list goes on... went downstairs for breakfast in the morning and all we could smell was rotten old oil.
Worst experience ever.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were dirty and needed a good hoover. Shower looked like it came out of the ark and was filthy. Dining room was filthy with stained table cloths, dirty cutlery and inferior food. Will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was very happy with the Carlton hotel. I was with my family there in August 2014. We had two rooms that were clean and was on the sea front, the staff was very helpful and a young man by the name of Andy was really great and did all his best to keep as happy and welcome.
They even phone me when i left because i had forgotten my mobile phone in on of the room and the cleaner did hand it in on the front desk. The rooms were a bit shabby and maybe could do with a make over but it is a 2 star and you pay for what you get and i must say the price was very good for 2 nights and breakfast for me and my family... I had a great time and I'm thinking of going again soon even just to see my mate Andy!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a night before catching the ferry to France. It is very well situated, on the sea front, with a residents carpark at the back. The staff were very helpful, Our booking was made over the internet and everything was in place when we arrived, except for the fact that one of the twin-bedded rooms was a double-bedded room. Staff would have changed it for us, but as it had a nice bath the two occupants just made do. My room had a funny smell, so I opened the sash window, and when I tried to close it again the wood came away in my hands, leaving me terrified that the glass would fall down like a guillotine. My son came over to help, and the curtain rail and curtains fell on top of us. It was quite funny actually. After a very pleasant breakfast served by an equally pleasant young man, I reported my problem to the reception. Felt very sorry for them, as they were already dealing with a complaint when I got there. They were fine about it - it is obvious from the scaffolding at the back that there is refurbishment going on, but I just felt I was in a remake of Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eanne94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked on Booking. com - usually good descriptions but this one is very misleading. The place is awful. Nothing like the photos on the web site. Very misleading. Decor shabby, rooms even shabbier. It seemed as though they were storing furniture etc everywhere. I was ashamed to have taken my family there even though it was only one night. It was dirty, something horrid came out of the bath plughole when you emptied the sink! beds seemed clean but room terribly stuffy. Car park a bomb site! Couldn't wait to leave and get to some decent hotels in France. Go to an Ibis or the like if you are getting the Chunnel !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing