We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back , Enjoyable stay ,GREAT HOTEL IN FOLKESTONE !!!!”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“we'll be back , Enjoyable stay ,GREAT HOTEL IN FOLKESTONE !!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

this is a really welcoming hotel !

In a short time I try to tell our wonderful adventure in this fabulous place.

We are an Italian couple, we live in the north of England, after a long essence of summer we decided to visit Folkeston to see a bit of the sea.

After a lot of research to find a nice place where to stay in town,
I see this fantastic hotel with sea view,
I asked myself "it will be very expensive for us? But no, we were lucky to have booked a double room for three nights at the fantastic price of 70 Pounds in total," "breakfast included", "unbelievable !!!

A reservation will really pleasant, with a very spacious room, a huge bathroom and especially all very clean with a good scent.

A rich breakfast with cereals, fresh milk, fruit salad, yogurt with various fruits and a great fresh orange juice made ​​from my favorite bartender Kewin, the son of the management from the France.


Thanks again for all the service offered by this very little money will be back soon for another enjoyable weekend.

thank you very much

Best regards

Mattia & Veronica !!!!!!GRAZIEEEE CIAO

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TESTING-FOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    104
    136
    108
    302
See reviews for
191
264
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked this hotel for the location and the price.
I didnt have a lot of expectations anyways after reading all the reviews, but i have to say that it wasn't so bad tho.
When I arrived, i was able to park my car at the back, and i could even check it from my room window which was backfacing.
A friendly and very professional young guy called Kevin was at the Reception desk at this time.
He had everything ready for a quick Checkin which is nice.
The sheets were clean, the good enough for a night stay, the TV a bit old but still does the job. The bathroom was large, has a bath and the water was hot. The room itself looked tired and dated, but i guess that's the way old victorian buildings are, difficult to maintain. I saw some constructions going on during my short stay. I bet improvements and works are on progress. It should look really great once finished.
There was no evening meals available in the Restaurant, so we decided to have dinner out. I went to the Reception to ask where we could find a good place to eat. Kevin was obviously also serving at the Bar next door which was quiet busy for this time of the day.
But i guess there is no time for drinking in UK lol.
We've been recommend few places, all walkable around the hotel, and the Town was just next door so we had plenty of choice.
Back to the Hotel, I've decided to hit the bar aswell. Prices were much more reasonable than what i used to pay in London's pub. It is a nice bar with a nice seating area, wifi was really efficient there comparing to my room. It had a very large flat screen, just because of that I spent most of the night with other guest watching a classic movie : Scarface.
In the morning, we had to wake up early and leave to catch the ferry to France. But we've been told that the cooked Full english breakfast wont starts until 7.30 AM. However, Kevin who was also doing the night porter shift managed to provide us a quick Continental breakfast, including cereals, coffee and stuff and that was much appreciated.
I would like to thank him specially and recommend this hotel to other travelers as it is ideal to cross the Channel

Room Tip: lower floors got better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is all i've got to say,
There were two good things about this hotel,
The water was hot,
And the sheets were clean.
Very Bad!!!
Says here I need to write some more, Well have you ever seen a toothless, greasey sweaty looking waiter, theres one in this hotel

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Carlton is a nice little beachfront hotel. The staff there have been very helpful especially when I asked for a room with a beach view, the breakfast was served fast and the new owned is a very professional young man. The rooms a relatively small but very clean and the overall atmosphere is welcoming.
I recommend this hotel for everyone stopping by Folkestone for a few nights, amateurs of nice landscapes and people looking for a cheaper alternative to the very pricy London.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the beach are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfred r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend never setting foot inside this disgusting excuse for board and lodging. Everything about the place was filthy. Old, smelly, dirty pillows, broken toilet, broken tv, no wifi, and the list goes on... went downstairs for breakfast in the morning and all we could smell was rotten old oil.
Worst experience ever.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were dirty and needed a good hoover. Shower looked like it came out of the ark and was filthy. Dining room was filthy with stained table cloths, dirty cutlery and inferior food. Will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was very happy with the Carlton hotel. I was with my family there in August 2014. We had two rooms that were clean and was on the sea front, the staff was very helpful and a young man by the name of Andy was really great and did all his best to keep as happy and welcome.
They even phone me when i left because i had forgotten my mobile phone in on of the room and the cleaner did hand it in on the front desk. The rooms were a bit shabby and maybe could do with a make over but it is a 2 star and you pay for what you get and i must say the price was very good for 2 nights and breakfast for me and my family... I had a great time and I'm thinking of going again soon even just to see my mate Andy!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,661 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing