We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Crete Down

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crete Down
Ranked #22 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast whilst visiting
Folkestone for the wedding of a niece. It was also our own wedding anniversary, and we wanted somewhere special. And this was it. Henrika McDuff is the owner, and we arrived to find her mowing the grass in the large well kept garden at the back of the house. She has rooms with views over the Channel and Folkestone, and our suite of two rooms with a separate bathroom overlooking the garden. The house is set up high above Folkestone, about 10 minutes from the centre by car. The rooms are clean and well furnished to give a real cosy English home feeling. There is free WIFI. We had excellent breakfasts, and the owner is a delightful lady, who takes obvious pleasure in chatting with her guests, and in making sure they are well looked after. The price at £80 per night (including breakfast) is higher than some, but you get what you pay for! We can certainly recommend Crete Down.

Room Tip: We had the Rose suite, with its own bathroom just next door. The other rooms have 'en suite bath...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Crete Down
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have stayed at this B&B a number of times and are always made to feel very welcome,almost like being a member of the family.Henryka is always on hand to show you her beautiful house and gardens,and is very proud of the fact that she maintains almost everything herself.The views from the front of the house go all the way to France,and the garden at the rear is a horticulturists dream! Breakfast is extensive,including plenty of fresh fruit and freshly brewed tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Frot bedrooms en-suite and Channel views,rear has seperate bathroom and garden view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillndavej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed overnight at Crete Down Guesthouse on our way over to Belgium. Our room overlooked Folkestone and was so comfortable,we had an ensuite bathroom, kettle for making tea and coffee, fully cooked breakfast which is perfect to set you on your way to Europe. Continental breakfast is available with cereals and fresh fruit juices.
We accidentally left to some clothes behind, Henryka sent us a email to let us know so we could collect them on the way home.
The guesthouse is situated 5 mins away from the Channel Tunnel.
Henryka's hospitality made our stay perfect. I would recommend Crete Down to anyone who is going to Europe for a perfect nights stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

This year was the second time we had stayed at Crete Down bed and breakfast the first time was two years ago. This time Henryka greeted us with a big hug!
Our room was the one from our previous visit overlooking Folkestone, and as usual everything was spotless. The super king sized bed was a real dream to sleep in. (We were the first to sleep in it two years ago).
For anyone staying here the hospitality is first class and for us it was like coming home. In the evening we would be invited to join Henryka in her lounge, chat to her friends or other guests, have a night time drink and biscuits etc.
Breakfasts are good too. A good choice of cereals plus a full English breakfast if you want it.
If you ever stay there try and see the garden - it is like a park with lots of flowers and shrubs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kentishmaid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We wanted a place to stay before going through the Channel Tunnel the following day. We chose this place and was really pleased with it. It is about five minutes away from the Tunnel and with sat nav easy to find. It is out of Folkestone on the top of a hill overlooking the town. The bedroom was of a good standard with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was small with a toilet, wash basin and shower. There was a TV and facilities to make yourself a drink. The breakfast was good with a choice and the owner was really friendly. We would definatley stay there again. If you want a place near the tunnel then this is it.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank ChrisB1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MKThomassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Attention : salle de bain privative signifie en dehors de la chambre Refus de carte bancaire
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieEpinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,038 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alkham Valley View
Alkham Valley View
#2 of 2 in Hawkinge
25 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rose And Crown Inn
Rose And Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Elham
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crete Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crete Down

Address: Cretedown Crete Road West, Folkestone CT18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £81 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crete Down 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 4 star guest house which is situated in the beautiful countryside on the North Downs Way in just outside Folkestone (Kent) and very close to the English Channel Ports and EuroTunnel. Situated in the heart of the Garden of England, "Crete Down" is the ideal base from which to explore all aspects of Kent or serve as an excellent stay for your onward journey to mainland Europe or further afield in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crete Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crete Down Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing