We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by this little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ampersand Design Cafe - CLOSED

Ampersand Design Cafe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Cafe, British, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Surprised by this little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stumbled across this place online. Its only been running 6 months apparently. Food is like a tasting menu or tapas and the food is really interesting. We chose 8 different dishes between the 4 of us and a bottle of wine. The food is made from scratch each time so arrives one or two at a time this gives you time to natter and decide which ones you'd like to order more of. We felt well looked after, they even rushed our puds so we could catch the fireworks in the harbour.
All 4 of us left full for less than £70.
I fully intend to recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DR Kevin Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Ampersand Design Cafe, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Really pleased about your review. Many thanks. Hope you enjoyed the fireworks and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quirky homemade food and excellent prices!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us went in and my 7 month old for lunch. What can I say!!! Food is excellent, I had the SOS starter ( which includes a mini platter of fish and cheese, a shot of vodka, a Caribbean bear - Swedish Starter) and meatball pizza, EVERYTHING is made from scratch to order. My friends also had homemade , blueberry and apricot pie and ice cream all HOMEMADE. The bill came to £38 for 2 courses each and drinks for all of us. I can honestly say it was amazing we shall be returning to this little gem on Tontine Street that also plays reggae music in the back ground. You can also book a table online which we would do if we were seeing something at the Quarter House and wanted to eat before, it's ideal as it's opposite.

Helpful?
Thank Beanie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Ampersand Design Cafe, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Many thanks for your great review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool design, delicious simple rustic food, go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have been meaning to come in after friends with good taste sung its praises, and they were right!
Charming host makes all the food on site - sourdough, flatbread, meatballs, ice-cream, all created with love and a light touch.
Prices are excellent as is the choice of beer, wine and soft drinks.
This is a great asset to this part of town, perfect before or after a trip to Quarterhouse at the weekend or a light lunch anytime.First class!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninecrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Ampersand Design Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. Very pleased you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you
again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ampersand Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Most enjoyable bar with very friendly service, great meals and quirky menu. Even though I am not a fish lover the SOS with pickled herring, cheese, beer and a spirit is highly recommended. Spend the extra on the move exclusive spirit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Ampersand Design Cafe, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Ampersand and were brave enough to try our take on S.O.S (sill, ost, snaps), a classic Swedish starter). Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

we both had the chargrilled chicken pizza, it was outstandingly good, I'd say pizza with an unusual twist, it was so light and delicious, perfect for my taste. the wine was to die for, and the couple whom own the place were the nicest people I've met so far in this town. definitely recommend the place!

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Ampersand Design Cafe, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Very pleased you had a good time. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ampersand Design Cafe also viewed

Hawkinge, Folkestone
 
Sandgate, Folkestone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing