We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rob Roy Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My fiancé and I travelled down to Folkestone for our overnight stay before we got the Eurotunnel in the morning to go to Disneyland Paris! On the website it said that we could check in at 4 but the lovely lady Sarah let us check in before hand. Honestly, we couldn't believe the room. It was ever so cute .... we were also very happy because there was wifi! Couldn't fault the rob roy guest house one bit. Thank you ever so much for making us feeling welcomed.

Room Tip: We had number 6! spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad that you had a good time with us before your holiday in France. Hope we see you again in the future, you were a lovely couple and good luck with the wedding plans. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

good rooms, very good breakfast and very quiet rooms : thsi is the place to be for a short holiday in Kent; only a short walk to the harbour, good advice for going eating and ea very good service !
ideal address for a short holiday, even in the low season

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review and the great endorsement for a short saty holiday. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great welcome and lovely room... Bed comfy, fantastic hosts... Only issue was with a very wobbly headboard but thus is soon fixed I am confident. Our son and dogs made very welcome and the location was perfect for channel tunnel after a long drive. Stayed in I garden room

Room Tip: Room one garden room, loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archways05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to do a review. Headboard has been fixed along with the TV issue that you had, water in the booster box. Glad you enjoyed your saty. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A lovely place to stay.Clean,comfortable, excellent and plentiful breakfast. Sarah is very helpful,friendly, and welcoming.This is our second visit, and hopefully not our last.Great location for euro tunnel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you Rosemary for the review. Lovely to see you all again and looking forward to your return. regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We would definitely recommend The Rob Roy Guest House. As returning guests we were met with a very warm and friendly welcome from Sarah. Nothing is too much trouble, she always goes the extra mile to make sure that you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our room was spotlessly clean as always and we enjoyed a wonderful cooked breakfast as always, can't praise her enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonwalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you Sharon for the taking the time to do a review and the kind words. It was lovely to see you again with your husband. It is so nice when people return because it means we are do our job right. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at Rob Roy for a long weekend and found it very clean, welcoming, with lovely bedroom and en-suite and great breakfasts.
Sarah was extremely friendly and helpful with local information and amenities with plenty of brochures and maps.
We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.
Steve & Sandra B

Room Tip: All good! Nice views of the garden at the back.though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDRA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a review. Glad we were able to accommodate you and hope to see you both again in the New Year. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Wholeheartedly recommend The Rob Roy for a stay in the Folkestone area. Met with a really warm welcome and Sarah was more than helpful with advice. The room was excellent and bed comfortable. All the meals were A1, the breakfasts set us up for the days we spent Christmas shopping. We will be back again early in 2014 and will stay there. TV in the room was good (freeview) and the room was very quiet giving access to the garden. We did not have a dog but they are welcome at The Rob Roy. Absolutely no complaints - 5* for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We always try to make our guest feel at home and I think we did this for you and your wife. Take care and see you in 2014. regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.2 mi away
The Wycliffe Guest House
The Wycliffe Guest House
#8 of 26 in Folkestone
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rob Roy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rob Roy Guest House

Address: 227 Dover Road, Folkestone CT19 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £49 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rob Roy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you from your hosts Sarah and Jim Fulton, who offer you a traditional warm and comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation. Ideally situated to explore East Kent. Only 4 minutes by car to town centre, 10 minutes to Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes to Dover ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Rob Roy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rob Roy Guest House Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing