We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Review of The Taverners

The Taverners
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I ate here last Sunday after chancing upon it. The soup was delicious, as was the macaroni cheese. My husband really enjoyed his Sunday roast. The staff were all very friendly-our waitress even came outside to find us after we left (we were still standing right outside the door) as we'd forgotten our water bottle on the table, which I was really impressed with as most places would've just thrown it out. The whole place had a welcoming and cosy atmosphere. We would definately return here if we came back to the Isle of Wight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    223
    57
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Pleasure”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After trying a few pubs on our visit to the Isle of Wight and not having such a pleasant experience I researched The Taverners last night and decided to book Sunday lunch for mum and I, We was exceptionally pleased, staff were polite, friendly, professional and efficient. The food was absolutely fantastic thank you, we will return before we go home on Friday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food by Chance”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stopped at this pub by chance on our way through the village and had a fabulous meal. My husband starter of asparagus was really tasty, we both had the plaice on the bone for our main course which was delicious. We were very tempted with the desserts but were just too full. It is nice to find a restaurant that uses both local and seasonal produce. The staff were really helpful and friendly too. Thanks for a great meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockmount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pre-wedding day guest meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Service was excellent, food was well portioned, hot & good quality - all when the place was very busy. Prices were fair too for both food & drink. My only complaint would be the chips (hand made) were too big - they were monster size making them difficult to each in one mouthful, smaller would make them more manageable.

Would go back again for sure if we are ever staying in that area in the IOW

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shep1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cracking Food!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our families favourite restaurant. On a recent "Special" trip to Bibendum's - we all left feeling like we would have rather been at the Taverna's. Consistently good food, constantly changing menu, fresh, tasty well cooked food. We love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonstopholidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Taverners also viewed

Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Taverners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing