We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family-friendly pub with great quality food”
Review of The Taverners

The Taverners
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family-friendly pub with great quality food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekday lunch with our two boys aged 5 and almost 3, having remembered it from our previous visit to the Isle of Wight a year ago. As anyone with young children knows, visiting anywhere with them for a meal can be difficult - you want to keep the kids occupied and out of other patrons' way, while trying to relax and enjoy a drink and a meal yourself. This pub met all our needs - a decent-sized outdoor space where the kids could run free, an enclosed play area to keep them busy, great quality food, great ale, and attentive service. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area (we drove 25 minutes especially to go here, and would again!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jumadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    226
    59
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food quirky restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This is a typical old country pub, with the low beams, chunky furniture etc, it is lovely. The food was a plenty, well presented and very tasty. Our dog was welcomed under the table. Only given 4 not 5 as not keen on the self order style, left it quite un-personal and you feel sort of abandoned once you have been shown to your table.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HOLLYOHSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening and Nothing Dissapointed !!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a special grown up family evening especially chosen from past visits. We ordered a selection of starters, Whitebait and Crab, followed by local Duck, Sea Bass, Steak & Ale Pie and local sausages. All were superb. A couple of Chocolate Brownies and ice cream were also devoured in zest !!
The staff were attentive and timely , all food arriving in good time to catch up with family news in between. Thank you all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T3196QJSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good beer though quite pricey. Excellent food. Excellent service. Loved the fresh whizzed apple juice!!! and the lovely garden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Taverners”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This pub is excellent for its food and atmosphere! we come to eat here every time we visit the island. (5-6 times a year to visit our friend Sue and her 2 westies!). A must to have is there beef pie which you will die for, in fact they are so good that you can order and take home with you freeze and heat/cook at your own leisure.confict of duck with red cabbage, slow roasted pork with crackling the menu is seasonal and fab. Jacqs & Bert.x

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Taverners also viewed

Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Taverners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing