We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Godshill Model Village
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Authentic retro attraction that will take you on a trip down memory lane. Beautifully recreated models of Godshill and Shanklin Old Villages as they were in the 1920's and 30's. Passionate about details, the models are true representations of the houses, cottages and pubs you can still see in the 'real world'. NHS Partner Garden supporting the work of the Royal Horticultural Society. The gardens are packed with conifers and shrubs in the Japanese style of Niwaki, that will make you want to dash home and start gardening... Our customers tell us we inspire them or that they would like to take one of our gardeners home with them!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We heard about the model village when talking to guests in our local hotel. Having lived on the Island for 50 years we resolved to visit with one of our grandchildren.

He loved this little world in miniature and took great pleasure in recognising local landmarks.
The entry fee was reasonable and with good weather a couple of hours could be happily spent ambling around this attraction.
.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gillian4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear rogerevans515
Gosh 50 years on the Island and we have only just managed to tempt you in! I am very glad you did make the trip with one of your Grandchildren.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    333
    50
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Came across it whilst driving through Godshill. Worth a wondered round, the detail is amazing and the work to keep it like that must be huge.

Helpful?
Thank LindsaytoLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear LindsaytoLaw
Glad you happened across us - thanks for your review.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been to the Isle of Wight several times, however we had never been to the Model Village at Godshill. Godshill itself is well worth the visit it is a quaint village. It was a lovely sunny day on our visit. We did not know what to expect but it was larger than we thought and the grounds were immaculate. To fully appreciate the experience you need to take your time and have a good look at the characters and there are some amusing ones, which you would not notice unless you take the time to look. The village is situated in well manicured gardens and were exceptionally clean and tidy. As you approach the churches in the model village it sounds like there is actually a service going on as you hear music coming out of the church. For something different to do on the Isle of Wight take yourself off to Godshill Model Village

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobster1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Bob M
Thank you so much for your detailed review and lovely comments.
You are right that taking your time is key to picking up on all the little details hidden around the garden. The gardener and model maker work very hard to ensure the Model Village is beautifully kept and it is great to know it is appreciated.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oude-Tonge, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice for older people”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is nice to see for older people. Shops and food and drinks are plenty available. We stayed here for 10 minutes and than we left. There is not really anything to see or do.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Patricia R
Thanks for reviewing us. I guess we can't please all the people all the time.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place, we loved it!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were lucky with the sunny hot weather which makes a difference for outdoor attractions. We enjoyed walking around, the attention to detail was great. The kids loved everything in miniature. Be prepared to walk through a large gift shop on the way out if you have children! Godshill is a beautiful village, lots of tea rooms and quaint gift shops. Recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodserviceiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Goodserviceiskey
Thanks for posting a review and giving us such a great rating.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godshill Model Village also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Godshill Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing