We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Short Visit Family Attraction”

Godshill Model Village
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Authentic retro attraction that will take you on a trip down memory lane. Beautifully recreated models of Godshill and Shanklin Old Villages as they were in the 1920's and 30's. Passionate about details, the models are true representations of the houses, cottages and pubs you can still see in the 'real world'. NHS Partner Garden supporting the work of the Royal Horticultural Society. The gardens are packed with conifers and shrubs in the Japanese style of Niwaki, that will make you want to dash home and start gardening... Our customers tell us we inspire them or that they would like to take one of our gardeners home with them!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Short Visit Family Attraction”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had an hour to spare and stopped for lunch in a tea shop and visit to the model village. Had seen this on a BBC programme and brought 2 other (sceptical) visitors to it. All enjoyed the excellence of proportion and quality of exhibit, though expensive when convert admission fee to euro. Tea shop down road on right great value for lunch. Worth seeing if you appreciate true craft work in action

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank C-Mc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for posting a review.
Best regards
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    318
    50
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Visted Whitsun Half Term”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited Godshill Model Village over whitsun Half Term with husband and 10 year old son, thought he might be bored but he really enjoyed it and took lots of photos.

The models are really detailed some with music playing, like the church were there was a model of a wedding taking place and a wind turbine Father Christmas sitting on the top of it.

My sons favourite was the 3 steam trains running around the village my husbands Erica Rowe running across the football pitch!

It is much bigger than you think as you move up on the second level which was good.

There is a good café at the end with a friendly 'older lady' brewing a great mug of tea.

The shop also sold some good things some for £1.00 - a dinosaur 3D bookmark which my son bought we later saw somewhere else for £2.99.

The Village is a really pretty but there are to many people for the narrow road and it is obviously getting to busy for how big it is, there is a chocolate shop there which sells great chocolate but it is VERY expensive, avoid if you have children!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Paula E
Thanks for your review. Happy we managed to entertain your 10 year old and husband…! The garden covers about 1.5 acres and does gradually unfold as you found.

I will let the 'tea hut' lady know she is appreciated and I am glad our prices in the shop remain competitive.

It is very tricky living so close to the Chocolate Shop I must admit - temptation is literally just around the corner! They do have some good ideas for presents.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Visited last week and absolutely loved it. Not sure my teenage daughters enjoyed it, but it certainly brought back memories of childhood holidays. Attention to detail is brilliant and it's definitely a pleasant way to spend an hour. The rest of the village of Godshill is really nice too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Carl H
Glad you enjoyed your visit even if we didn't quite hit the mark for your teenagers…
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss out Godshill”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

You must visit Godshill if you are on the I.O.W.The model village is excellent..The work that's gone into the model village is fantastic.We paid Adult £4.50,child £3.50 with free re-entry on any other day.Free carpark in the village.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mckpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear aronna,
Thanks for taking the time to review us and Godshill as a whole.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic model village”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great place to visit, at first I thought it was small but once in there I was impressed, a lot bigger than I thought, they have really put some effort in to it and entry was very cheap for what's on offer, kids will love it, would recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank telstu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear telstu22
Thanks for reviewing us!
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godshill Model Village also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Godshill Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing