We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting”

Godshill Model Village
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Authentic retro attraction that will take you on a trip down memory lane. Beautifully recreated models of Godshill and Shanklin Old Villages as they were in the 1920's and 30's. Passionate about details, the models are true representations of the houses, cottages and pubs you can still see in the 'real world'. NHS Partner Garden supporting the work of the Royal Horticultural Society. The gardens are packed with conifers and shrubs in the Japanese style of Niwaki, that will make you want to dash home and start gardening... Our customers tell us we inspire them or that they would like to take one of our gardeners home with them!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
North UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Sadly we had to rush round the model village, as we were on a coach visit. It has been well planned, with something to interest everyone. We particularly liked the scale model of the model village itself... a model of a model!
I'm sure we missed much of the detail, but time was pressing. Allow yourself at least an hour and take a little time to chat to one of the staff who will tell you a little more about it and how it is maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank grumpyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear grumpyg49
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry you were pressed for time during your visit - I suppose that is the nature of a coach trip that you are constrained by the Drivers schedule. Perhaps you will get the chance to come again under your own steam and spend a little longer with us.

Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    350
    53
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Alright if you like this sort of thing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I'm sure people have worked very hard to make this but I was not taken with it. Plenty of visitors thoroughly enjoying though. Expensive for a family of four for such a short visit. The Church with the Wedding was playing "Abide with me"!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank blueberrybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear blueberry belle
Ah well we can't please all the people all the time…but if a Model Village isn't your thing I have no idea why you chose to visit us!
Best regards
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very well kept and lots to see.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Really good and still great after many years. We especially liked the model village within the model village. Very tidy and well thought out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear John R
Thank you for your kind comments.
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So, so charming and gentle”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Again like BGC its another activity/stroll that will work better with little ones and appreciative older visitors - the teens we saw looked bored as if they expected a model village to be something else. Beautifully done and maintained, as big as it can be and needs to be. 30 mins is enough and cream tea to follow, all very charming. Again like BGC you can go back for free during the 7 days but why would you?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dantyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dantyall
Thanks for writing a review - glad you enjoyed your visit!
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A wonderful experience. Full of humour, just look at the models, they certainly wouldn't win any beauty contests, but they are so full of character. The place was immaculate. The scenery and miniature buildings are first class and every thing was in good order. You can stay as long as you like. Go round again and you will see things you had missed the first time. So, so clever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsontravel, Owner at Godshill Model Village, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Noreen E
Thanks for your review. You are right that the little people are not exactly things of beauty! They do all have quirky attributes as you noticed - often folk find someone that looks just like a friend or family member…
Best wishes
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godshill Model Village also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Godshill Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing