We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best afternoon tea in Godshill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old World Tea Gardens

Old World Tea Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Godshill
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea in Godshill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the best afternnon tea we have ever had in Godshill. It is by far the best tasting and the best priced afternoon tea in Godshill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLisaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    48
    15
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited as a couple on Good Friday. We were greeted very eagerly by a pleasant waitress. We had a pot of tea for two and sandwiches. Very nicely presented and tasty. On deciding where we would eat in Godshill this establishment looked well tended and colourful.
The only downside were that when customers vacated their tables, the waiting staff appeared reluctant to clear the items. The amount of times they all walked past dirty tables was surprising, on their way to take an order back to the kitchen. There was only one waitress who would compete this task. Two tables were left stacked with dirty items for over twenty minutes. Apart from that one observation, a pleasant lunch experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emeraldgreen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cream tea's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit in about a year and was not disappointed at all. We had lunch which again was lovely followed by cream teas which are I believe the best on the island.
Yes they make you pay when they bring the food over but that leaves you open to leave when you like and not having the hassle later

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old World Tea Shop.......the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our first time visiting this tea shop.........lovely cream tea, fresh scones, clotted cream.
Service excellent. Choice of tea or chocolate at no extra cost.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 166Rosie166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I went on a Friday with my mum & sister, we usually go to the tea room by the big coach car park, but 3 coaches had turned up there so though we would give the old world tea rooms a go, we was about to turn straight back out as we was the only ones in it, but so glad we stayed, the waitress was at the door with menus straight away & gave us a good chance to get comfy & look at the menus. We had a cream tea for 2, and cream tea for one, which came to £6 that included 4 scones & 3 pots of tea. The scones both fruit & plain were yummy they use gloddis cream, you could see you face in the tea pot as they were so clean. We asked for a pot of hot water to make the tea go further and was no trouble. The only two minor things that stop me giving 5 stars is the jam is in a packet, and not the Bonne mamam jam, like everywhere else does & the waitress took our money straight after giving us the cream tea, which I though was unusal, but at least you don't have to hunt someone down when your ready to go. Overall I would recommend and will defiantly be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cottoncandy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old World Tea Gardens also viewed

Godshill, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 
Godshill, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Old World Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing