We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal”
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

decided to try here when we went on holidays
idylic village location
the food was delicious and plentiful so much so we couldnt eat all our main course
we had a chat with steve the present landlord who is a lovely chap
this would be a great family pub as has its own maze plentyof space for little ones to run around and play football
hope things continue to go well

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolestrawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    146
    88
    43
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Under new management but food still the same!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We thought we would give the Griffin another try as it was under new management. When we entered to order our food the queue was enormous and not enough staff to cope with the orders. We were a party of 16 and all ordered different kinds of food. My jacket potato was cold and very poor. I had ordered extra coleslaw which did not arrive. I asked the waiter for the coleslaw who checked my receipt and after much discussion went to get it. It was given to me in a tiny pot you would expect to get mayonnaise in. Nobody was blown away by the food it was average at best. We will not be returning to the Griffin, plenty of other places to try. Its a great shame as the children loved the football pitch and the pub itself has great potential with the right management. Visit the Reef in Sandown if you want a fantastic meal!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well presented but nothing special”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I visited this place on the 29th Aug, ( the weekend of the IOW Scooter rally ). I had fish and chips and a pint of lager shandy for ( £12.35 ) The drink was OK ( albeit expensive at £3.40 ) but the fish and chips ( at £8.95 ) were very dissapointing . When presented, it looked very impressive but on cutting into it, the fish fillet ( at its thickest point ) was very thin and tapered off into practically nothing.. The batter ( rather cleverly ) bulked up the appearance so it appeared to be something it was not. It was also bland and tasteless, as if it had been frozen. Friends went for the carvery option ( circa 50p less ) and the meat was salami sliced and placed on the plate in a staggered fashion so it looked like you were getting more, the rest of the carvery meal was 'bulked up' with cheap ( in season ) veg. This place has got food yield management off to a tee, be warned.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMMY98tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thankfully under New mangement!!! as it was dire!! good enough pub food”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Returned to IOW for our hols with family 2 children under 7 I like the Griffin and thankfully it's under New Management as last year is was awful!!!!!!! you would have been scared to eat in the place.

Last Year - the guy who used to own it was in a right old state and it was obvious he had had enough just passed the stage of caring which was sad!

The new owners appear much more friendly and keen to make a go of it so let's wait and see.

They have typical pub food (everytihng with chips!) tastes good enough and the children's menu is OK just need to order 1 portion as the portions are too big for 1 each!

The carvery on a Sunday when we popped in was really, really busy and looked and smelled good!!

The well established maze and out door play area are great as a passing distraction for the children whilst waiting for food.

It also serves food all day which is quite good if you want to get the children tea at about 4.30-5 pm a lot of places don't start serving food until 6pm round the Island.

Yes there is limited parking so get there early there is a big car park opposite behind the Old Smithy but it closes at 6pm.

Watch this space!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely pub”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My family and I holidayed on the Isle of Wight for the first time this July. We stayed near Sandown and found the Griffin advertised in one of the bokklets we had picked up. We arrived around 4.30pm for drinks and the children absolutely loved the maze which is set at the back of the very large beer garden. There is also 2 football goals set to the right of the garden (so not in the way of anyone), there is also a small adventure playground with a climbing frame and slide, etc. On the day we visited the trees had been cut down which opened up the garden to full effect. There were plenty of tables and chairs/benches. We then ate around 5.30pm, the menu isn't vast, but it has a good selection, we ordered at the bar and the food was bought to the table in a reasonable time. The food was all cooked very nice and was very enjoyable. The staff were all very pleasant and stood and chatted with us. Would definitely recommend a visit here and we are looking forward to returning next year. Definitely worth a visit. For a family of 4, including drinks, our bill totalled £45.00.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VICKYJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

Godshill, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 
Shalfleet, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing