We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent few hours fossil hunting”

Dinosaur Expeditions CIC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dinosaur Expeditions C.I.C. is a Community Interest Company created by local fossil enthusiasts. We promote responsible fossil discovery and conservation in addition to helping the public understanding of fossils and the palaeo-environment through Palaeoart. To do this we have established the 'Dinosaur Expeditions, Conservation and Palaeoart Centre' at the site of the Dinosaur Farm Museum. It houses displays of fossils, locally produced palaeoart, childrens' activities and a fossil & mineral giftshop.We also organise popular fossil hunting trips throughout the year at a variety of locations on the Isle of Wight, led by our experienced professional guides. Dinosaur Expeditions CIC pools the local knowledge, talents and experience of our Fossil Hunt leaders. This helps to ensure that we can provide a professional quality experience for all our customers. Are you mad about Dinosaurs and other fossils? We are, so why not join us on an amazing Fossil Hunting Adventure! Discover your own fossils and keep all your finds.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent few hours fossil hunting”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a fantastic time fossil hunting.
Andrew was very patient with us and taught us what to look for in stages throughout the 2 hours. Our son loved it and had pockets full of rocks / fossils by the end of the 2 hours.
He was extremely pleased to come away with an illusive piece of dinosaur bone by the end.
I would recomend this activity to anybody with an interest in fossils, dinosaurs, geology or the history of the island.
Thanks Andrew we had a great time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great fun for all ages. Before setting off on the fossil hunt we were shown examples of the more 'interesting' things to look out for. This was very worthwhile and without it I don't think we'd have found much! During our 2 hours of trying to examine every stone and rock on the beach our 12 year old actually found both a piece of fossilised dinosaur bone AND a stomach stone from a dinosaur. Our guide was very patient with everyone spending the whole 2 hours telling people what their finds were. If you've got children this is a must do trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank indetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great 2 hours”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a great idea. I took my children on this walk and didn't really know what to expect.

We met Oliver, the dinosaur expert in the car park at Chilton Chine and walked down to the beach. He is obviously very passionate about what he does.

Oliver told us what to look for and the kids went off down the beach to look for fossils. I would say, take a bag as you will bring back plenty of finds.

My children have enjoyed explaining to everyone since what it is they have brought back.

Great idea, something a bit different to do.

Helpful?
1 Thank KateWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fossilling Mad”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Having arrived to the island in the middle of a storm, we didn't know if the fossil hunt would still go ahead the next day, but after a few calls we were set for a day on the beach, with rain coats and wellies. We met Andrew in the car park and set off to the beach. He gave us a short talk of what to look for, and off we went. As we were looking he told us about the goeography of the island and why different fossils where found on different parts of the island. The kids thought he was very funny. One of the girls picked up a stone that turned out to be a bit of dino bone. He asked the girls to look for strange shapes in the stones and sent them off to look, they were so exited when they found dino foot prints. We were supprised just how many there were. We are now looking foward to our next chance to get to the beach.
So a big thank you to Andrew and the team.
We all loved the day and would recomend it to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“highly enjoyable family trip”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Plenty of activity for our young son, with sufficient information to keep my wife and myself interested. Prior to the 2 hour scramble along cliff and beach paths, west of Blackgang Chine, I had little or no idea that the Isle of Wight was one of the best sites for fossils in the UK. It made an excellent day out in our week's holiday, and first return to the island after many, many years. We plan a return trip, though feel that Dinosaur Expeditions could benefit from a more enticing web-site, perhaps including photos and descriptions of the fossils, the beaches, and the guides.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Abinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Expeditions CIC also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dinosaur Expeditions CIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing