We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but perfectly formed”

Dinosaur Expeditions CIC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dinosaur Expeditions C.I.C. is a Community Interest Company created by local fossil enthusiasts. We promote responsible fossil discovery and conservation in addition to helping the public understanding of fossils and the palaeo-environment through Palaeoart. To do this we have established the 'Dinosaur Expeditions, Conservation and Palaeoart Centre' at the site of the Dinosaur Farm Museum. It houses displays of fossils, locally produced palaeoart, childrens' activities and a fossil & mineral giftshop.We also organise popular fossil hunting trips throughout the year at a variety of locations on the Isle of Wight, led by our experienced professional guides. Dinosaur Expeditions CIC pools the local knowledge, talents and experience of our Fossil Hunt leaders. This helps to ensure that we can provide a professional quality experience for all our customers. Are you mad about Dinosaurs and other fossils? We are, so why not join us on an amazing Fossil Hunting Adventure! Discover your own fossils and keep all your finds.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small, but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Dinosaur Farm may not look much, but when you see the passion and attention to detail of the people who are there, you realise that this is run by people who want to share what they have found/learned.

The exhibits are well laid out, and when we arrived we were given an almost personal guided tour, with masses of information - the fossil hunting tips were really useful.

The kids (and me) loved sifting for their own little fossils in the little gravel boxes.

We didn't arrive at the right time to take part in a fossil hunt, but from what the guide said, these should be well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tour. Well worth it!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in plenty of time for this tour as it starts in a popular National Trust car park just off Military Rd. Have £2.50 ready for this. Then make sure you get the right guide as there were two separate company's starting from the same venue.
Oliver was friendly and enthusiastic. He started off explaining the different types of bone and rock we would be looking for before we set off down to the beach. The morning is basically spent looking for fossils with people then running backwards and forwards to Oliver asking if they'd found anything interesting. He's a very patient man and was great with our two little boys.
We then saw dinosaur footprints and a ice age tree!
A great tour. Well worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank claireybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergoncey, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small but personal !”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is one of the best small attractions on the isle of Wight and well worth a visit. My family and I went expecting to spend 15/20 minutes there, but ended up staying an hour and a half, all because of the knowledgeable guide who talked us through the exhibits. He was very informative and also patient with my 5 year old ( who likes to chat). Ok, it's small and not on the same scale as Dinosaur Isle but the personal touch is much better and furthermore we learnt more there in ten minutes than we did walking around it's much larger competitor for an hour.
Thank you Oliver's Dad.
P.S I agree with all Elle_itchy_feet says but in addition you can also handle a range of fossils too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic fossil tour”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having read the reviews, and having one 8 year old dinosaur enthusiast and a 4 year old rock enthusiast (in both senses of the word!), we couldn't miss this opportunity, and I'm so glad we didn't. We had tried fossil hunting ourselves, but had no idea what we were looking at. When we went along to the 'dinosaur farm' and showed our finds we were given a wonderfully patient explanation of their origins, and the fact that it was all flint really didn't matter. The centre is run by extremely knowledgeable paleontologists, who are also highly skilled communicators. The fossil walk was so good, with the ever patient Oliver explaining the origin of every rock and pebble he was shown. We came away with 3 dinosaur bones and a sea urchin, and a unique experience which was the highlight of the holiday.
Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Familysaurus”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We attended a guided tour with Oliver our guide arming us with all the info we needed for a very enjoyable morning, Our 9 year old girl thoroughly enjoyed it as did both of us adults, well done and I would really recommend the trip to family and friends...Gray

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WightTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Expeditions CIC also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dinosaur Expeditions CIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing