We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef or Bottlewasher?”
Review of The Three Bishops

The Three Bishops
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Brighstone
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chef or Bottlewasher?”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Having eaten excellent food at the Seven Bistro next door the previous evening we thought we would share the love and eat here. What a mistake!! Previous comments about the nachos were spot on and this was followed by a cremated gammon topped by dehydrated pineapple for which I paid extra (never experienced this before). On complaining I was given another piece of uncooked pineapple from a tin. At £12.85 for the gammon I was disappointed and had to query if the chef or the Bottlewasher had done my meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernBMWbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    72
    56
    32
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite a four-star review”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nice roomy pub and friendly staff but our food, mushroom tagliatelle, was very average and I agree with the coments of other reviewers regarding the pricing.

Guess I shouldn'tygrumble too much though cos I rememebr this place when it was little more than a pokey old pub back in the 80s- it is way better than that now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PunkyToy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Got you over a barrel”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a few hours in the pub this afternoon and thought we would eat here too. The place itself was nice, as were the staff but the drinks were very expensive for a village pub and the food only got eaten because we couldn't be bothered to complain. To be honest it was just about edible but we could, and have, better ourselves at home. Which kind of defeats the object of eating out - especially when it costs £7 for some soggy warmed up nachos with sauce from a tube and £20 for 2 main courses that would have embarrassed a trainee chef at a catering school.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smunkyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok grub but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Standard pub grub well presented but at £50 for 3 mains and a kids meal is a bit pricey. Decent play area for kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful, nice pub”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have several tricky dietary requirements and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was very good with a large selection of gluten free meals and they were more than happy to substitute some foods for others.
We sat in the well kept garden which and the dog was welcome too. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Bishops also viewed

Shorwell, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Three Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing