We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never been disappointed so far !”
Review of The Three Bishops

The Three Bishops
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Brighstone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed so far !”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stopped there in many occasions to enjoy a nice lunch wether inside or out when you the sun is visiting . I have never been disappointed ! The service is friendly and efficient, the food respectable for a pub and the desserts very yummy !
All this is reasonably priced. Its a good family pub !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annesoseaview_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    71
    56
    32
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to eat and drink”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our party of six called in for lunch. We were wet and cold following a very wet walk. The pub is large, very clean and inviting. Although we only really wanted a light lunch the portions were big and tasty. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas dinner”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went with a paid works outing so did not pay for any of our own food or drinks. There were 16 of us and the table was set up with crackers . The majority had the set meal , starters : the prawn cocktail was served deconstructed on a piece of slate ,tasted nice. The soup was very thick and quite bland. Mains; two "roast " potatoes ,one undercooked,some turkey breast ,burnt parsnip,tiny bit of stuffing and a wrapped sausage , it was Ok , veg came in bowls and was lovely. Those that had steak were not too impressed ,small and fatty ,served with a few chips ,peas and tomato. Sweet; apple crumble was served in something like an ash tray ,obviously microwaved so hard on the edges, this too was on a slate with sugar and a syrup ,couldnt put the custard on though as no room. Xmas pud came on a slate with custard in a jug, impossible to put on pud ,it just ran off the slate, bowls were invented for a reason ! The waitresses were good and worked well clearing tables etc. I would not reccomend this pub to my friends for food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilowblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs work”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Huge pub with good reputation but we werent too impressed. Grotty machine coffee, massive menu and really really average food. Along with the 'now thats what i call music 1' sound track it all felt really old fashioned. If you want a bog standard burger and chips, or a jacket potato with cheese, and you dont mind rather steep prices, then try it. There is much much better food on the island at better prices too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank drlaurawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“At last - a pub that really caters for dietary problems”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This pub is my personal get out of jail card. They cater for specific dietary needs without fuss and I am freed from the tyranny of plain meat, dry jacket potatoes and no pudding. They offer a huge variety of gluten free options which are delicious. They will make alterations to dishes if you explain the problem and it's all done with efficiency, a smile and reasonable cost. Surrounded by eateries where we live, but willingly drive to the opposite end of the Isle of Wight to eat here.

Only comment is that pub can be a bit cold. Now winter is here, get that fire going landlord!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Bishops also viewed

Shorwell, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Three Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing