We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub/restaurant in an attractive village.”
Review of The Three Bishops

The Three Bishops
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Brighstone
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice pub/restaurant in an attractive village.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Varied reviews for this pub but all I can say is that we visited at lunchtime and were not disappointed at all with the food or the service. Had a short wait for the food but it arrived piping hot and was delicious (lamb's liver for me, sausage and mash for the 'boss'). Some reviewers have said the food is not cheap, but it is average price (£11 for a main meal) for the island unless you go to somewhere like Wetherspoons. Usual island-sized portions (huge!). In addition, not that we were bothered, but they have a large Gluten Free menu as well as the normal. The girls waiting at table were very friendly and returned to check we were happy with the food. If other reviewers were unhappy, why didn't they say so at the time? Would we return - yes!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    58
    33
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A truly dog friendly pub”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I don't understand the bad reviews for this pub as the staff are all very friendly and we were allowed to sit anywhere inside with the dog. All the meat, fish and veg is locally sourced and there is something for everyone, even gluten free. There was also a good Specials selection. Food is served all day, whereas some pubs in the area stop after 2 until 6 pm.

My daughter had a well cooked, medium rare sirloin steak for £16.95, the sea bream at £14.95 was nicely done and I had the BBQ chicken and bacon for £12.95.

Well worth a visit and there are gardens for the children with play equipment. This is a popular restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldduckHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family meal!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We read the negative reviews and nearly didn't come to eat here but we were so glad we did. Great classic pub options, good sized portions, good 4 ales with many wine options. Desserts were a highlight! Staff were helpful and overall we had a very good experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyMoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some of the worst food on the island.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Absolutely diabolical food. Everything is microwaved. Overpriced, unimaginative, poorly cooked, awful. We gave it another chance after the same experience last year. Definitely on our never again list. If you are going to cook for the public, do it properly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank logikLogik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive for what u get”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Nice location and pub but overpriced for a basic sandwich that could be better. The sandwich was the same size as what u get on the children's menu.

Helpful?
Thank Sashdbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Bishops also viewed

Shorwell, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Three Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing