We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, clean cottage in quiet part of IOW”
other travellers have booked this property
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - - originally part of Brighstone Mill 2 The Granary Grade II holiday cottage in Brighstone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - - originally part of Brighstone Mill
2 The Granary Grade II holiday cottage in Brighstone
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - Garden entrance
Ground floor master bedroom
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - Main bedroom
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - Twin bedroom
Ground floor twin bedroom
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - first floor living area
Living room with comfy sofas
Dining for 4 people
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - Living room with countryside views
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - fully fitted kitchen
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - Tea on the patio
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - tropical garden
2 The Granary holiday cottage in Brighstone - peaceful location
2 The Granary holiday cottage, Brighstone - Millpond
Dragon tree, Brighstone, Isle of Wight
North Street, Brighstone, Isle of Wight
Nearby Brook Bay, Isle of Wight
The Needles, Isle of Wight
Osborne House, Isle of Wight - open all year round
Come see winter migrating birds at Newtown National Nature Reserve, Isle of Wight
One of the rare red squirrels on the Isle of Wight - winter is a great time to spot them
We can offer discounted ferry inclusive deals available from Red Funnel
We can offer discounted ferry inclusive deals available from Wightlink
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brighstone, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex T
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean cottage in quiet part of IOW”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Family of 4 (children 9 & 7) stayed at 2 The Granary at the end of March/early April 2018 and had a relaxing break for a week. Didn't meet the owner, Teresa, but conversed extensively over email & text message. Teresa was helpful and prompt in responding to any queries. We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of the property.

Brighstone is quaint and the local shop was impressive, with many gluten free options, which appealed to us. The local pub is fine for a drink but we found the food to be average for the price.

Overall I would be happy to recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thanks for your lovely review and recommendation. The Brighstone village shop provides our welcome hampers and is a real asset to our village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mjb_2785
1 review
“New year visit to the granary”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Very pleased with our recent short break for new year 2017/2018.

The granary is tucked away down a quiet lane, but not too far from the village of brighstone.

Off road parking and easy access are a big plus for me. On arrival the granary was warm, clean and well presented, you can tell it is looked after and loved.

We had a great stay and will book again next time we visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
2 The Granary is popular all year round and a perfect location for a winter break with its easy access to nearby beaches and Brighstone village. So glad you enjoyed your New Year stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy winter retreat”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Following a busy year of wedding planning we chose to stay on the Island for our familymoon with our 13 year old and 9 year old sons. We often stay on this side of the island so were familiar with the local area and decided it was the perfect place to just relax and not feel the need to cram our week with activities.
However it was our first stay at the cottage. We were pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the cottage was for a family stay. The children absolutely loved the novelty of downstairs bedrooms and we appreciated the views from the upstairs living area.
On arrival there was a welcome hamper waiting for us with bread, cereal, eggs, jam and cake it was a lovely touch. We also appreciated the Christmas tree and subtle decorations around the cottage it added to the cosy homely feel of the cottage.
The cottage was warm and welcoming and we would definitely recommend it to other visitors to the island.
Thank you Teresa for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your familymoon and pre-Christmas stay at our peaceful cottage. The upside down nature of the cottage is always very popular with our guests. Looking forward to having you back for your next Isle of Wight holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in Brighstone cottage!”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week on the IOW in this lovely upside down cottage in Brighstone. As soon as you arrive in this spotless cottage you realise how it gets the nickname, perfectly set out! Huge master bedroom, family bathroom and twin bedroom downstairs with a roomy living space, dining area and a kitchen that is extremely well equipped upstairs! Hand mixer, cake tins, the lot! I doubt there is anything you would ever need extra in this kitchen. A very nice surprise to find soap, toilet rolls and a few bits and bobs to start you off. Washing machine and fridge freezer we found really useful. Owners are a complete pleasure to deal with and very welcoming. We had storms due on our arrival and they even checked on our ferry for us to see if it would be running (of course it was!). Courtyard would be fantastic during the summer, lovely area for relaxing and BBQing. Table and four seats, a lovely sun spot. About a ten minute walk to the local shop which sells literally everything! The Three Bishops pub is the same distance and serves excellent food, although it closed rather early on weekdays whilst we were there. The pub also has a great play area.

We were a family of four, with two boys aged 14 and 9. We had some rainy days and went to Ryde for laser quest and bowling which were very reasonably priced. Swimming in the medina leisure centre near Fishbourne and the Cineworld in Newport were also all a good price for these wet days. We were lucky and also had some glorious weather. Freshwater Bay, is beautiful. We also visited the statue of Jimi Hendrix at the local museum in Freshwater! Shanklin Chine is an hours visit as is the Monkey Haven, the latter better for young kids really. Sandown Beach has some fantastic cafes and there is the pier with crazy golf and slot machines if that’s your kind of thing. Godshill was a winner for us too with cream teas, The Model Village, and the Chocolate making shop/cafe. Niton, St Catherine’s lighthouse was the highlight of my week and was well worth the money, a fantastic tour up the lighthouse after lunch at The Buddle. Pubs to try, The Griffin, The Three Bishops and my favourite pub, The Spyglass. The cottage was a perfect base for all of these attractions. Thank you so much, we can't wait to return. xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. There are so many great places to visit on the Isle of Wight - even in Autumn and Winter - and glad you had some good weather to enjoy them. We look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariannel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great time in this cottage which has everything you need and more. The welcome hamper and all the little extras that are provided helped to make our stay more relaxing.
The 'upside down' nature of the property also helped as you don't need to carry luggage etc upstairs.
The location is ideal if you want to explore family attractions like Blackgang Chine and The Needles which are less than 30 minutes drive.
We do hope to return to the island and the cottage sometime next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. 2 The Granary is a Grade II listed cottage and its quirky charm always goes down well with our Isle of Wight holiday cottage guests, many of which return year after year. West Wight has lots of attractions within easy reach of this cottage and Blackgang Chine and The Needles are always an essential visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbcengine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home from home”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We returned here to stay for the fifth time this summer. Having visited every two or three years since they were aged 5yrs and 3yrs our children were given the choice of a family holiday anywhere they wanted and this was top of their list. Every time we stay we look forward to returning again. The Granary (affectionately known as the 'upside-down house' by us, as the bedrooms are downstairs and the living room is upstairs) is situated on the quiet and beautiful west side of the island. We enjoyed walking locally to the well stocked local shops. We ate dinner a few times at the Wight Mouse Inn, which offers traditional pub food. A short drive away is Black Gang Chine which is always top of the list of must see attractions according to our kids, now aged 18 and 16! When we arrived this time, The Granary had just received it's annual make over, it is well maintained and has everything you could need. The arrival hamper is a super surprise to arrive and find, with a vase of beautiful fresh flowers and a card. Teresa really has thought of everything... Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thanks for a wonderful review! We are very grateful that so many of our guests choose to return to 2 The Granary year after year. The Isle of Wight is a truly special place and its a privilege to help our guests make each stay full of happy memories!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, cosy, quiet cottage in rural Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is lovely place on the edge of Brighstone, a small working village on the western (and prettiest) coast of the Isle of Wight. It was formerly part of a granary adjacent to an old mill and stream. A small lane runs past the cottage but, given there is almost no traffic, does not disturb. The bedrooms are on the ground, and the living area the first, floor. This is a sensible design which gives all the light and views to where you spend most of your time. It is an easy walk to the village (via a country track) and the village shop, which is a fascinating, old fashioned place where you can do your daily shopping. We had a super week with wonderful weather. We were welcomed with a basket of goodies that was better than most we have experienced. All in all, a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at 2 The Granary in beautiful Brighstone. Our village shop is fabulous and supplies our welcome hampers which are always a hit with our Isle of Wight holiday cottage guests. We look forward to having you back for your next Isle of Wight holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing