We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot over the water and the views, along with a sea view in the bathroom”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Undercliff Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Spent a wet and rainy night here and really enjoyed the location overlooking the harbour, with the ferry terminal nearby and the lights on the opposite shores (3 of them) winking at us.

The room was sufficient with a double bed, tea making and a tidy clean ensuite. The best part was the bay window seat where we could watch the world go by in comfort and 180 degree views.
As we were the only ones staying the house was nice and quiet. Traffic noise didn't bother us and the ferries stopped about 9pm so sleep was good.

Breakfast was large and filled both of us for the day. Regular offerings of sausage, bacon, egg and mushrooms along with tea and coffee. Again, in a large sun filled room downstairs this had excellent harbour views. The breakfast was acceptable, not outstanding.
Parking was limited but it was off the street and in front of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2 front rooms as they face the harbour.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UteBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Undercliff Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are looking for a B&B in Dunoon look no further. The Undercliffe would put many hotels to shame. The cleanliness of the rooms and shared areas are spotless. As for the breakfast, the plate of food they serve could feed two people. Overall this is fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for Room No 1
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunbar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and always look forward to returning. Russell and Rita until recently ran a nearby hotel and their experience shows. They have an extensive knowledge of Dunoon and the surrounding area and it's attractions.

Our spacious room which had a pair of easy leather chairs was spotlessly clean, the bed large and comfortable and there were wonderful views of the Clyde and the ferry terminal just 200yds away. There is also a Residents lounge with balcony and similar views. The breakfasts, chosen from an extensive menu, were cooked personally by Russell and were both delicious and really set us up for the day.

This B & b is really good value and should not be missed, in fact it is worth the short ferry trip from Gourock to Hunter's Quay just to experience their hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We picked this B&B as it was an ideal location on our road trip and it proved to be a great choice, friendly, clean with a fantastic room overlooking the ferry quay. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice to pick from. The owners have experience running inns and B&Bs and this shows in the attention to detail which make all the difference. We ate in the local Ghillies Bar attached to the Royal Marine hotel a few minutes walk away, handy if you need a quick bite to eat but very average food on the night we ate there.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Fist time I have stayed here and I must say I was very impressed. Very friendly welcome, the whole place is immaculate... Guest lounge very atmospheric and the balcony has great views... Rooms are clean and tidy with TV, tea/coffee tray etc.... Breakfast was wonderful; everything I asked for was accomodated. Very nice. Free WIFI and great views... this B&B ticks all the boxes and gets a 10 out of 10 from me for friendliness, service etc...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I must say that I really enjoyed my stay here. Basic rooms which I love but very high on the cleanliness aspect of things. I couldn't have asked for better. Had a great view of the sea from our room and left to our own privacy. Rita was very helpful and pleasant.
The house was lovely and clean and fresh and if I ever stay in Dunoon again I would be sure to stay at The Undercliff. A really pleasant B&B, in pleasant surroundings and pleasant hosts. What more could I ask for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToBandBornotoBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Lovely house, rooms with stunning views and boy......what a delish breakfast! You must try the fruit bread, nom nom nom. The owner were kind enough to accommodate my classic convertible car (with leaky roof). I could park the car under cover which is a definite boon these days! Thank you Rita for the homely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Douglas Park Guest House
1.3 mi away
Craigieburn Guest House
Craigieburn Guest House
#5 of 19 in Dunoon
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Undercliff Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Undercliff Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Marine Parade | Hunters Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Undercliff Bed & Breakfast Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing