We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rashfield Shieling South - cosy, clean but very cramped”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chase the Wild Goose Lodges
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Rashfield Shieling South - cosy, clean but very cramped”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

When we drove up and saw the welcome sign for Wig Wam holidays (glamping website) and took in the actual size of the Sheiling we were disappointed as we had been expecting a larger cabin from our interpretation of the website pictures and floor plan (no scale). We were staying for a week and fortunately the weather was fine and we were able to spend most of our time outside and around Argyll.
There is no wardrobe or hanging space.The two seater settee is snug, the dining table only just big enough to seat two, the shower compact and the bedroom a tight squeeze (inches) to walk round the bed. The bedroom door needed raised as it stuck on the floor when opened and the decking furniture was sized for a children's tea party. One cup and one bowl were chipped badly on arrival.
The rest of the cabin was well equipped with satellite TV and free wifi. (Signal a bit erratic).
We gave this feedback to the owners in our questionnaire on leaving and we had been e mailed a very pleasant and apologetic e mail promising future improvements which arrived in our in box before we got home.
These two sheilings are compact and well equipped for four star glamping as a romantic short break for two - but not big enough for a longer multi activity holiday especially if the weather is inclement. Cabin fever would inevitably set in I fear...
The area is low economy but truly beautiful, the walking (forestry commission) excellent as is the cycling and the golf. Strone GC beats Inellan GC in our view...
I realise Stephen and Liz put a high priority on their guests comfort and enjoyment and will be upset by this review but this compact cramped Shieling just didn't do it for us.....if we'd realised just how compact it was we would have gone for a bigger lodge.
Any readers should not be too put off by this review - just set your expectations better than we did - and any doubts or queries e mail the owners who really are very helpful, concerned and responsive...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to Rashfield Sheilings for 5 days and was Delighted with what I found.Everything was Excellent. The Cabin was beautiful, it was immaculate and everything was perfect. It was very well equipped and there was nothing I could complain about. Stephen and Liz were very friendly and nothing was a problem to them. The setting was lovely, so peaceful. Even had a wee Robin visit every morning.

The walk up Pucks Glen was good and the Botanic Gardens were beautiful.

The Food in the Cafes and Restaurants was lovely as well and not over priced.

I would recommend it to anyone, and I would go back and stay anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from our stay at Rashfield Sheiling .every part of the stay was excellent .the cabin was superb everything as described . A perfect place for couples to stay. Cabin was spotless, everything you need to cook, bed was so comfortable goose feather quilt comfy pillows such a good place to sleep after a day in the fresh air. We brought some peanuts ,put them on the bench along side the cabin and hey presto red squirrels .i would recommend this place to everyone real good value for money. I have read some reviews where they say the midges are a problem , yes they are here but not in the numbers of some places we have stayed, and they definitely don't spoil this fantastic place for a relaxing break, and after all it's the west coast of Scotland so midges come with the territory. I would recommend a vist to the near by Botanic Gardens , the walk to the "view point " is well worth the uphill stroll
This is a quality accomadation in a quality area.

Mark and Ann from Menstrie stayed at Rashfield Sheiling South for 3 nights in June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushthetaff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We enjoyed staying at Rashfield. We had some wonderful days here. Booking, welcoming and the lodge were excellent. Very clean and comfortable. You can do a lot of things around here or just relax and find silence in nature. We recommend it for everybody!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have visited these lodges many times and have never been disappointed. The lodges have a wonderful location in the Cowal peninsula and are situated in quiet, secluded grounds close to Puck's Glen, a beautiful woodland area. The Royal Botanical Benmore Garden is a short walk away . There is a parking bay at each lodge and the surrounding grassy areas are well maintained . The accommodation is of a good standard with well equipped kitchen and comfortable living and bedroom areas. The shower is not powerful as water pressure is low but I enjoy a bath and the shower attachment was good enough.

There is a range of lovely woodland walks in the area, so whatever your fitness you'll find something to suit. We drove around the peninsula, and further afield to the West Highlands and Kintyre. It was always lovely to return to the lodge and to eat out in the porch area enjoying the last of the sprng/summer evenings.

The price of accommodation is very reasonable, and there is welcoming information and a couple of Scottish chocolate cakes on the kitchen table on the day of arrival.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

wonderful log cabin, in a ideal location for a charge your batteries break. Lovely wood burning stove meant we were cosy despite the wintery conditions. The decor was stylish and had all added extras like binoculars DVD player etc. We will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely place, great setting , stayed in lodge 12 there was no noise from the road when inside the cabin. T, coffee and suger and 3 tunnocks t cakes when we arrived nice touch. Cabin was warm and clean but had a very bad smell in the double bedroom on the first night , may be due to dampness as it may not have been used, this smell went away when the heaters were on for a while .The only other bad points were the shower TOTAL JOKE used it once and the tv only really had one channel worth watching , im not looking for hd quality or loads of channels. Walks around the area were really good dog loved it , the walk up the glen was great and so was the botanical gardens . Also went to quad mania for the clay shooting .... very good and not to far away .

I would urge the owners of these lodges to spend a little money on this place as it could b top notch and get great reviews every time, even if it put the price up alittle as it was reasonably priced , needs new carpets and a decent shower I could live with the tv .

I would return hear as I did have a good weekend ,would have given it an excellent if not for the smell and shower but would want reassurance that the shower was much much better before I returned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
4.9 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
933 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Craigieburn Guest House
Craigieburn Guest House
#6 of 19 in Dunoon
58 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
220 reviews
5.3 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase the Wild Goose Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase the Wild Goose Lodges

Property: Chase the Wild Goose Lodges
Address: Rashfield, Dunoon PA23 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Lodges Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing