We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice non frills place to stay with caring staff and convenient location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A nice non frills place to stay with caring staff and convenient location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

A non frills hotel with basic presentation and facilities. The staff are very friendly and really eager to make your stay welcoming and happy. Checking in is quick, efficient and well organised. The rooms are basic, a little tired in appearance but very clean. The bathroom is very small but functional and the shower cubicle and facilities don't offer space but work adequately. Heating on full which sometimes became too hot but opening the windows soon regulates that problem. Not much noise overnight but when guests beside you are up, so are you.. Too bad if they get up at 6am. Breakfast is well organised and menu offers a good choice. food is served quickly too and staff are attentive and polite. Bar staff are good and happy to give advice on local restaurants and facilities. Last orders are called at the bar in a unique way so just make sure you have your drinks on the table to avoid disappointment at 11pm. overall an enjoyable wee hotel for a weekend getaway with a great location and efficient staff. A 2 star rating but this hotel feels better than this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    80
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, yes it does look a bit jaded and dated but the rooms were kept very clean, and were very comfortable, the food was excellent and if I had to rate the staff on a scale of 1 to 10 I would give them 12. If I had any complaint it would be that our room only had a bath whilst some had shiowers but this was only a minor irration and did not spoil our stay at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view its worth the extra, and of course a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ambler029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Room was basic and clean, staff were friendly.
I have never stayed in a hotel that you have to order a dinner special at breakfast.
In Scotland Steak Pie is not considered a Special... The string pretending to be steak was so bad and looked like it had come from a tin the gravy was almost black in colour, and this was one of the better meals.
Breakfast was Disgusting.
All meals must be already plated at the speed in which they arrive 30 sec's approx from time of order to put on table so Nothing is cooked to order, or should I say NOTHING is cooked just Cheap Shapes in assorted Colours pretending to be food shoved on a plate.
Save your money and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fioggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Selborne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments about the cleanliness and staff friendliness. However, I was very concerned to read your comments about the food, particularly as, according to the questionnaires which were returned to us, the majority of the 100+ guests in the hotel at the time of your stay found the food to be “very enjoyable.” As you were apparently so disappointed with the meal you chose on the Friday evening, I am surprised that you did not speak to the Restaurant Manager or the General Manager who would have been able to offer you one of the many alternatives that were available. It is not necessary to pre-order the majority of options on our menus and the item you chose was the only one which required per-ordering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were originally booked in for the Glenmorag but they over booked us. So they organised a room in this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 1900 to be told that the restaurant was closed. The receptionist that checked us in was friendly and helpful. The room was warm, spacious and comfortable. When we checked in we were told that breakfast was served between 0800-0930. So we were down for 0840, the table that the receptionist had allocated to us the night before was not set up. There was only two members of staff on at breakfast time. There was a coach trip down for there breakfast at the same time. It was not a buffet breakfast it was a menu that you could choose from. Sounds great, but if a hotel is going to offer a choice from a menu then they need to have more staff on. When I complained to the receptionist her answer to me was " the staff have all ready told me that they couldn't cope and it is not my fault that everyone comes down at once". I take it from this answer they don't expect their guests to come down for breakfast.???

Room Tip: check into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lawriesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

My Husband and I went on a coach trip to the Selborne Hotel what a great holiday we had staff and manager were so obliging nothing was any trouble .Hotel very clean Bedroom very comfortable room serviced every daybeautiful view from bedroom window .Food first class entertainment very good have stayed at Selborne Hotel before and willcertainly go .again. well done Selborne Hotel and thankyou.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ge0rdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We have just spent the weekend at The Selborne Hotel and were very impressed by firstly the welcome recieved on our arrival, our ensuite room (we upgraded to one with a lovely view) was compact , contained everything we required for our stay and most importantly was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. cheers guys keep up the good work. The only dissapointment was the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Went for 3 night New Year break with Alfa travel. First scottish celebration having been to spain last 4years. Hotel O.K. but did appear to be skimping on staff, food and entertainment. Staff rushed of their feet in busy dining room,Food really shcool dinner stuff. My first order of prawn cocktail was abysmal. the tiniest prawns I have ever seen, with a dollop of sea food sauce absolutely dreadful . Breakfast . really orange juice as a choice? Entertainment New year was a chap on a keyboard that was it What a let down. It is not a cheap holiday. we could have gone to Spain for th same price. Only good thing Dave the driver with Alfa. top man

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — penny piching
  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellyshappyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Property: Selborne Hotel
Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing