We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and fabulous staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views and fabulous staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Wow I have been meaning to write this review for a while (better late than never eh). My daugher and I stay at this hotel each year when we attend Cowal Highland Games. The reception staff are brilliant, it's like meeting your long lost friend. They always speak to my daughter and ask her about her results etc and it just makes you feel really welcome. The hotel although dated is clean and comfortable and what it lacks in decor is certainly made up by the friendly staff throughout each department.
Breakfast was excellent and good sized portions, getting you set for the day.
The hotel seems to have a great buzz about it and entertainment in the evening was going down a storm when we arrived back late in the evening.
We also went home not realising we have left an item in the room, this was returned in the post to us a couple of days later, not expected but a lovely gesture by the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel, the views from the restaurant are stunning and the walk along the front in the morning is fantastic.
Hope to see you again in 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank specks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    85
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
60
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co. durham england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

we booked with alpha, picked up in our home town, had an excellent driver, very informative and helpful. the hotel staff were so friendly and very good at their jobs, very helpful manager. food excellent,cleanliness,comfortable, wonderful views, great entertainment.

Room Tip: book sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patCo_DurhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were there for just one night this time (on the way up north) but had stayed there for a week in 2006. A few changes had been made - notably the reception area - but otherwise our impressions were similar.

This was a good 2* hotel. Clean, comfortable, good meals, friendly and helpful staff. We also liked the location - a pleasant walk at the rear of the hotel and not far from the town centre. There were no frills but it had everything we needed. We would certainly be happy to return there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

A non frills hotel with basic presentation and facilities. The staff are very friendly and really eager to make your stay welcoming and happy. Checking in is quick, efficient and well organised. The rooms are basic, a little tired in appearance but very clean. The bathroom is very small but functional and the shower cubicle and facilities don't offer space but work adequately. Heating on full which sometimes became too hot but opening the windows soon regulates that problem. Not much noise overnight but when guests beside you are up, so are you.. Too bad if they get up at 6am. Breakfast is well organised and menu offers a good choice. food is served quickly too and staff are attentive and polite. Bar staff are good and happy to give advice on local restaurants and facilities. Last orders are called at the bar in a unique way so just make sure you have your drinks on the table to avoid disappointment at 11pm. overall an enjoyable wee hotel for a weekend getaway with a great location and efficient staff. A 2 star rating but this hotel feels better than this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, yes it does look a bit jaded and dated but the rooms were kept very clean, and were very comfortable, the food was excellent and if I had to rate the staff on a scale of 1 to 10 I would give them 12. If I had any complaint it would be that our room only had a bath whilst some had shiowers but this was only a minor irration and did not spoil our stay at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view its worth the extra, and of course a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ambler029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Room was basic and clean, staff were friendly.
I have never stayed in a hotel that you have to order a dinner special at breakfast.
In Scotland Steak Pie is not considered a Special... The string pretending to be steak was so bad and looked like it had come from a tin the gravy was almost black in colour, and this was one of the better meals.
Breakfast was Disgusting.
All meals must be already plated at the speed in which they arrive 30 sec's approx from time of order to put on table so Nothing is cooked to order, or should I say NOTHING is cooked just Cheap Shapes in assorted Colours pretending to be food shoved on a plate.
Save your money and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fioggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Selborne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments about the cleanliness and staff friendliness. However, I was very concerned to read your comments about the food, particularly as, according to the questionnaires which were returned to us, the majority of the 100+ guests in the hotel at the time of your stay found the food to be “very enjoyable.” As you were apparently so disappointed with the meal you chose on the Friday evening, I am surprised that you did not speak to the Restaurant Manager or the General Manager who would have been able to offer you one of the many alternatives that were available. It is not necessary to pre-order the majority of options on our menus and the item you chose was the only one which required per-ordering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were originally booked in for the Glenmorag but they over booked us. So they organised a room in this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 1900 to be told that the restaurant was closed. The receptionist that checked us in was friendly and helpful. The room was warm, spacious and comfortable. When we checked in we were told that breakfast was served between 0800-0930. So we were down for 0840, the table that the receptionist had allocated to us the night before was not set up. There was only two members of staff on at breakfast time. There was a coach trip down for there breakfast at the same time. It was not a buffet breakfast it was a menu that you could choose from. Sounds great, but if a hotel is going to offer a choice from a menu then they need to have more staff on. When I complained to the receptionist her answer to me was " the staff have all ready told me that they couldn't cope and it is not my fault that everyone comes down at once". I take it from this answer they don't expect their guests to come down for breakfast.???

Room Tip: check into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lawriesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Property: Selborne Hotel
Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing