We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

A party of us spent three nights at the Selborne over New Year, it was FAB, where do I start, the food was brilliant, the staff were very friendly, the Management were exceptional. We had a blast and it was over all too soon. We had fancy dress on our last night which was great fun and our manager William joined us too. Loved Nancy our singer too. We have already booked to go back this year and it cant come quick enough. Honestly, we just cant praise the entire package enough. It gets 10/10 from us.....WELL DONE SELBORNE!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL X

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotgossip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    80
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

this is a good 2 star hotel ,our room with its sea view was fine , the meals were of a very good standard and plentiful, our problem was, we stopped with an alpha coach holiday were the average age seemed to be 85 and a very nice group of people the were . we had some minor niggles, such as they only take cash at the bar, and we could not run a tab and the rigid meal times,

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view as other guests were very disappointed with the rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at The Selborne for one night on November 20th. It was a last minute visit due to us being unable to stay where we had originally planned. We found the hotel to be excellent value for money. The bedrooms and bathrooms and immaculately clean. The sea view was stunning. The manager and staff were friendly and welcoming. The food at dinner and breakfast was good, and served quickly and efficiently. There was a group in the hotel for a five day turkey and tinsel break. We spoke to many of their group, and they had nothing but compliments for the hotel and its staff. They were all having a great time.
Many Thanks to the Manager William, Sue on reception and the rest of the team for welcoming us to their lovely hotel at such short notice. I am sure that this won't be the last time i visit Dunoon. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Alyson

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in October for 3 nights as part of a Gaelic Choir attending the Dunoon Mod. 4 choirs in total were staying so the hotel was absolutely full. Nevertheless, we had excellent service from everyone, the very busy manager dealt quickly with any problems, and every member of staff was very helpful , friendly and efficient. The variety and quality of food served was very good, and the dining room service was excellent from friendly professional staff, and the bar staff stayed on into the wee small hours for as long as was required. The views from the dining room were outstanding. There is adequate car parking and there is a lift in the hotel. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: many rooms have sea views, worth asking for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

For o 2* hotel this was fine. Hotel is old and tired and in need of renovation but, though small ( our room) it was clean. Menus were basic but food was adequate or the price. Only adequate for the coach party scenario. Staff were lovely and service was first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aonghas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

excellant staff entertaintment good great food very very good choice very clean
room to view lounge and dining room view of the clyde watching time go by

only fault room too small for 2 adults

it would have got full marks know it has its faults would visit again

Room Tip: dont pick top floor 301 303 no room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed in October 2012 for one night.

It's a coach party hotel, could do with a lick of paint, and is not designed as a place to go and chill out in. However it's clean, friendly and comfortable. I have given it an average rating since very good or excellent, for me, means a place which would be a focal point of a holiday, or which really impresses you, as opposed to a place purely to sleep in. The detailed ratings below reflect the fact that FOR WHAT WE PAID it was very good.

Although it's a huge building we had a little difficulty finding it due to a funny wee one-way street - there is no big grand entrance, which kind of confused us.
Less than a ten minute walk to centre of town
Plenty of parking in hotel car park opposite hotel
Very friendly welcome
Room a decent size
Big comfortable double bed. Not a duvet but a sheet covered with a rough blanket, which was covered by a bedspread.
Our room was rear-facing (i.e. not towards the sea). Small window so quite dark.
Bathroom just fine. EXCELLENT shower.
Nice big towels!
Not much noise from other rooms etc.
The heat in the narrow corridors (it's a bit of a maze!) was unbelievable! The room was very warm when we first went in.
Breakfast served 8 to 9. I was down bang on 9, and there was no issue.

Staff who were serving at breakfast time were very warm and friendly. Nice views from breakfast room.

The breakfast itself was very poor. I ordered fried egg, sausage, bacon and black pudding. The sausage was cheap - more spongy fat-soaked breadcrumb than meat - the bacon was fatty and odd-tasting, the black pudding was cheap, fat-soaked and chewy and the egg was greasy.

We needed a place to sleep - and it was absolutely fine for that. We booked through laterooms that morning and got the room for £58, which was great.

Room Tip: Room 131 - did the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Property: Selborne Hotel
Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing