We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group Holiday”
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group Holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just had a group holiday(18of us ). In Dunoon Scotland with Alfa in July . The Selborne hotel is one of the best . Food was hot, and plenty of choice .The staff were very helpful and friendly and bar man Andy with all his dressing up kept us entertain on a night .Dunoon is a small town but , plenty of walks to do . All of us had a great holiday thank u Selborne and Alfa .

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    86
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
61
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullion
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Selborne Hotel, Clyde Street - not to be mistaken for the Selborne B&B also in Dunoon, is in a great position. I had a room with a view of the Clyde - number 118, which was great. The shower was brilliant - hot and powerful. The double bed was comfortable, the television was a bit small if you wanted to read narrative from the bed - even with my glasses on, but overall it was a nice room and I would definitely stay again - provided I could have the same room or similar. The staff were very friendly - my allotted table for breakfast and dinner was laid out so that again I could look out over the long garden and the Clyde. There was a coach party staying so most of the tables were taken, but I didn't have to wait long to be served at any time. The menu was quite adequate for my tastes and the wine palatable (at dinner not breakfast!!).
There was evening entertainment - not particularly to my taste - but it seemed to be enjoyed by others - starting off with a bingo session going on to whatever was on later in the evening. I was not aware of any noise/music whilst in my room.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms look out over the garden towards the Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is an old dated hotel,I dont even mind that,The staff couldn,t be nicer and the food is very good.The rooms are very clean,the only thing annoyed me was how small the bedrooms were and it was worth it to upgrade to seaview.Its still very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

stayed in the hotel for four nights room was small but clean and tidy maybe a little dark as the window in the room was small weather was very warm and asked for a fan but they had none food was to a very high standard plenty of choice on the menu the hotel is a little dated bar could do with updating staff where very friendly and helpful the hotel looks nice from the sea front side but the main entrance is very disappointing could do with a makeover but once inside the staff and cleanness make it a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed at the Selborne Hotel for 4 nights on an Alpha coach holiday. I had a lovely third floor single room with a fantastic view along the Firth of Clyde, definintely worth paying the supplement. My room was well maintained and had a shower cublicle, no bath, which suited me. There was always a good supply of hot water and the room was kept clean and tidy. The food was adequate with good choices on both the breakfast and the evening menu. The evening entertainment was brilliant and all the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. There was a lovely walk along the promenade and the views breathtaking! I had a wonderful time and would love to have a return visit.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a view across the Firth of Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IreneBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villamartin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The facilities were excellent, the staff were most helpful and pleasant. Rooms were serviced each day and most comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent and the views from both the dining hall and our room were breathtaking. The walk into town was beautiful and only a short distance. I will definitely visit again and recommend it highly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Essex
Level Contributor
214 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for week holiday with Alfa coach tours with my Mum. The hotel is in a quiet location right on the pedestrianised promenade and has lovely views across the loch. The walk to town, pier & ferry is about 10mins. The hotel is huge!! Our room was clean & comfortable, excellent shower (bathroom recently refurbished), with hairdryer, kettle etc & tv. Comfy beds and a good nights sleep, our room was at the back overlooking residential area). The bar area & restaurant are nicely decorated, meals were lovely (good choice of veggie options) and staff friendly and helpful. There was bingo and entertainment (singer, accordian and piper) most nights. Bar prices are a bit pricey. The only let down, we thought, was the garden, its massive with great views but not much has been done to it & was rather neglected, so much more could be done to make it a real asset to the hotel and make it more enjoyable. Overall a great stay, would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Property: Selborne Hotel
Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing