We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel to stay at”
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the selborne hotel in September.For the price we paid we were on a coach trip cannot fault it.From the moment you arrive there you are looked after.The food is very good indeed even if you are a vegetarian.The room was very comfortable with a fab view. Cannot really fault it, would stay there again .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, wont regret it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Selborne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Arrived at hotel with Alpha travel after a long journey and found a very warm welcome. A mix up with our room not been near my mums as requested was instantly rectified. Our room was large, spotless and the views were spectacular. Yes its not 4 star but it doesnt pretend it is. The food is varied, four choices at dinner!the waiting staff brilliant. My mum was taken ill and later didnt feel well enough to come down for dinner so the waitress offered to have a sandwich made to take up to her room. nothing in this hotel is too much trouble. entertainment is ok not showcase but the atmosphere is lovely and friendly.reception is helpful and knowledgeable. The manager was very helpful welcoming and always on hand. All in all our first experience of a coach tour with Alpha was a pleasant one. A long journey yes, but value for money fantastic.If you want a holiday where you dont need to drive, your cases are delivered to your room for you,Meals that you can look forward to, and service second to none then look no further, it may be weighted towards the more mature individual but im 51 and I loved it! will definitely be using Alpha again. Sea view worth the extra and room 124 recomended, thank youx

Room Tip: sea views a must!! room 124 very large with bath and shower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I really cannot understand some of the complaints being made about this hotel recently - what do people want for the price they pay!! I travelled with a group of 33 on a private group holiday in August and we had a great time staying here at the Selborne,Everyone was pleased with their bedrooms, which were very clean, towels changed every day, spotless bathroom, walk in showers,the sea view rooms were worth every penny of the supplement. The food was good and varied. We had no complaints - the food was served hot and on HOT plates. The service was very good by all the staff- from reception to the chambermaids. Very friendly hotel indeed. Dunoon itself is a little disappointing but it is a wonderful base for touring around. We visited Isle of Bute, also Inveraray and took a sail on Loch Lomond.

All in all a lovely holiday break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murrayhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned last friday from coach trip, stayed in room 306 sea view 3rd floor and yes it has lift to that floor, travelled with Alfa Travel coach trip (never again), driver had never been "up that far before and wasn't an Alfa driver and didn't know the area, however, what did make up for the lack of fun on the coach, me and my sister enjoyed the time spent in the hotel, other guests were a LOT older but still fun in some cases, nightime entertainment enjoyable but the funniest of all is the Barman Andy, it's his 18th season and what a treasure he is, proffesional, courteous and a very funny guy.

Dunoon very tired and a little run down, shops on main street a few minutes walk down the promenade, tried to go to the castle museum at 2pm on wednesday but it was closed. Sorry Dunoon would probably not visit again it was a long trip from Wigan to Dunoon with not much there to justify the distance.

Room Tip: room 306 third floor, right in the middle fantastic views even watching the seals in the morning pl...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Travelled with a group of nine with Alfa Travel ( an 11 hour coach journey each way from Leeds!!) so two of the days of a five day holiday taken up sat on a coach and with inclement weather forecast, this could have been a pretty miserable holiday. However, the hotel staff did a really good job making our party feel welcome and entertained us on an evening. Yes, we did feel younger compared to most guests and we might have acted somewhat less than gentile. We did appreciate staggered dining times which worked a treat; the hardworking waiting staff (Kasha worthy of praise); good food; bar person Andy and his variety of costumes, the varied entertainment, and spotlessly clean rooms. If the weather is bad, my top tip would be to go to the leisure pool in Dunoon where you can have a swim, sauna, steam room, and jaccuzi for £4.60. Don't come expecting the Ritz and you will have a good time.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThePBTrainerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from the Selborne Hotel on a weekend trip with Harry Shaw (Coventry). Our room was very clean, excellent sea views. Food good, cooked breakfasts were great. Overall very good value for money. Thanks to Andy (Bar), we had a few laughs. Glyn the driver was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Week long stay with alfa coach trips entertainment was ok the accordian player fab nancy bloody awful, bar closed all day only open of a night if your over 65 you will enjoy it otherwise boring. Waitress service awful had to wait 40 minutes between starter an main and its all microwaved!! Quite liked Dunoon although a bit run down . Hotel needs redecorating all hallways are filthy and very smelly as you walk past the table tennis area Drains ?? If yoh cant manage stairs dont book there as the lift is on one end of the building and you have to walk through miles of hallways . Reminded me of the film the shining scarey !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
195 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing