We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selborne Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Year Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from another brilliant New Year Break at The Selborne Hotel Dunoon. Had the most fantastic time, great food, friendly staff...thank you William and Nancy for looking after us and joining in the fun too. Thanks to Linda and her team for making our room comfy, you all do such a great job.....We are already booked in for the next one, thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hotgossip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    82
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have just spent a few days at the Selborne Hotel and it was fantastic. Lovely room, good food, friendly and helpful staff, good entertainment and top rate management. The only down side was it was over all to soon and we had to leave. Would recommend a stay there to everyone. Will be back soon for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel good food really good
Manager and staff very good.
Now for the entertainment absolutely awful thank God for alcohol on new years eve the singer was tone deaf but she was like an ever ready battery she just kept going and going dreadful.I would definitely go again only if they can assure me that they won't book her again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the selborne hotel in September.For the price we paid we were on a coach trip cannot fault it.From the moment you arrive there you are looked after.The food is very good indeed even if you are a vegetarian.The room was very comfortable with a fab view. Cannot really fault it, would stay there again .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Arrived at hotel with Alpha travel after a long journey and found a very warm welcome. A mix up with our room not been near my mums as requested was instantly rectified. Our room was large, spotless and the views were spectacular. Yes its not 4 star but it doesnt pretend it is. The food is varied, four choices at dinner!the waiting staff brilliant. My mum was taken ill and later didnt feel well enough to come down for dinner so the waitress offered to have a sandwich made to take up to her room. nothing in this hotel is too much trouble. entertainment is ok not showcase but the atmosphere is lovely and friendly.reception is helpful and knowledgeable. The manager was very helpful welcoming and always on hand. All in all our first experience of a coach tour with Alpha was a pleasant one. A long journey yes, but value for money fantastic.If you want a holiday where you dont need to drive, your cases are delivered to your room for you,Meals that you can look forward to, and service second to none then look no further, it may be weighted towards the more mature individual but im 51 and I loved it! will definitely be using Alpha again. Sea view worth the extra and room 124 recomended, thank youx

Room Tip: sea views a must!! room 124 very large with bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I really cannot understand some of the complaints being made about this hotel recently - what do people want for the price they pay!! I travelled with a group of 33 on a private group holiday in August and we had a great time staying here at the Selborne,Everyone was pleased with their bedrooms, which were very clean, towels changed every day, spotless bathroom, walk in showers,the sea view rooms were worth every penny of the supplement. The food was good and varied. We had no complaints - the food was served hot and on HOT plates. The service was very good by all the staff- from reception to the chambermaids. Very friendly hotel indeed. Dunoon itself is a little disappointing but it is a wonderful base for touring around. We visited Isle of Bute, also Inveraray and took a sail on Loch Lomond.

All in all a lovely holiday break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murrayhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned last friday from coach trip, stayed in room 306 sea view 3rd floor and yes it has lift to that floor, travelled with Alfa Travel coach trip (never again), driver had never been "up that far before and wasn't an Alfa driver and didn't know the area, however, what did make up for the lack of fun on the coach, me and my sister enjoyed the time spent in the hotel, other guests were a LOT older but still fun in some cases, nightime entertainment enjoyable but the funniest of all is the Barman Andy, it's his 18th season and what a treasure he is, proffesional, courteous and a very funny guy.

Dunoon very tired and a little run down, shops on main street a few minutes walk down the promenade, tried to go to the castle museum at 2pm on wednesday but it was closed. Sorry Dunoon would probably not visit again it was a long trip from Wigan to Dunoon with not much there to justify the distance.

Room Tip: room 306 third floor, right in the middle fantastic views even watching the seals in the morning pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Property: Selborne Hotel
Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 3-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing