We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Italiano Rio

Ristorante Italiano Rio
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

First time in Dunoon yest and noticed this wee italian during the day looked really nice outside so decided we would go back at night. Staff were really nice and we were seated straight away. Menu was great loads to pick from. Starters and main meals were great really enjoyed them. Will def be back as have recently purchased caravan in Hunters Quay so will make this our regular place :)) dx

Helpful?
2 Thank DebsM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on Trip advisor about Rio Restaurant it’s being great to see you have enjoyed our products and service
We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our restaurant and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and to everyone on our staff.

Thanks
Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    141
    52
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious and satisfying meal tonight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The restaurant was quiet on arrival and seated with no delay. Menus presented quickly and ample time given to work your way through a great choice of food.

Skipped on starters and went straight to mains. My selection this time was a grilled chicken Caesar salad and it was not disappointing. Crispy fresh lettuce, well cooked chicken, fabulous large croutons and lovely dressing. The generous lashing of Parmesan cheese finished it nicely.

My friend enjoyed a lovely chicken dish which consisted of a hearty sized chicken breast smothered in a tomato based sauce, very fresh side of vegetables and potatoes.

My 9 year old loved the range of choice on the kids menu and struggled to choose from the list of favourite things open to her... Lasagne, macaroni, pizza, chicken!
She eventually had a design your own pizza with pepperoni and sweet corn . Best of all her chocolate cake and ice cream and ice cream filled penguin was a hit.

Staff are great here. Very efficient and friendly. Service is excellent.

I think a return visit is most definite for us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed the pizzas ,lasagne ,chicken Cesar salad ,etc. ordered, our team work very hard to achieve such a high standard in our restaurants. I am really pleased that you found our food such a high quality
we hope you will be back to visit us soon as we would love another opportunity to provide you with our superior service.
Thanks
Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a lovely Sunday lunch the food was great my wife and I had the roast beef which just melted in your mouth, the choices of starters and sweets were excellent. Will go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PCS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the Rio whilst staying at The Argyll Hotel, the staff were lovely and very attentive,the food was excellent,great value, would highly recommend a visit to the Rio

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindaglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review following your recent visit in Rio .It was an absolute pleasure to read your review on the different aspect of our products & services, I am really pleased you found our restaurant to be of such a high standard and chose to dine with us so frequently; we hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future.
Thanks & regards
Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic murder mystery weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend of murder mystery which was excellent value and great fun. We arrived at the hotel very early 10am and was given the keys to the room so we could dump our bags and start our holiday. The hotel room was spotless and the bed so very comfy. The breakfast was delicious with an endless supply of toast. There was a good choice for the evening meal also. Bar meals excellent value and the haggis pakoras you have to try. They were scrumdiddlyumptious!
The Bar service was fantastic Ray and Thomas made sure of this. Will definately return to this hotel. Excellent value for money

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Italiano Rio also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to Ristorante Italiano Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing