We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A Very Valuable Resource

My wife's family moved away from Dunoon in the 1930s. It's a very special place to them. On this... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Michael B
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
OK.

A very small museum at only £3 per adult entrance fee. A lot to look at from close to present day... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
wahaejock
,
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Read all 148 reviews
  
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
90
41
16
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
41
16
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local history worth a visit interesting exhibits couple of hours entrance fee surrounding area steamers friendly staff small charge video showing first floor rainy day all ages dunoon area disabled access model ships nice little place
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

A wonderful find. A small museum but very informative about the local area, The Victorian rooms are excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make the visit even more worth it. We would definitely revisit the next time we are in Dunoon. We were lucky to see a wedding about to take place.

Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

This is a nice little museum it is very small and they have done quite well to give some history of the town in a tiny space. However I do feel it probably hasn't changed much for many years and perhaps could benefit from some updating? Dunoon was a very popular resort years ago when hundreds of visitors from Glasgow would go Doon the Watter on the steam ships. A few well known people came from there or lived there for a while but goodness who now is interested in Harry Lauder or knows who Mary Marquis was? I do but I am nearly 60! The museum needs to try to attract some younger people and maybe needs to rethink the exhibition to update a bit. We did enjoy it but I feel Dunoon needs a bit of livening up if it is going to attract visitors and stay a place holiday makers will want to go.

Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHouseMuseum, Manager at Castle House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your very frank appraisal of our Museum much of which I agree with. As a very small private Museum dependent mainly on income from our visitors we do reasonably well to provide a wet weather facility for Dunoon. We are very pleased with the comments routinely received from those who take the trouble to let us know their opinion. Our main problem lies with the distinct lack of visitors to Dunoon. Should this situation change perhaps we may find ourselves with the ability to extend and update the range of exhibits. Over to Dunoon to sort itself out. Thank you very much for your visit it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

A lovely small museum, not just for a wet day as it was a beautiful sunny day when we visited. Very friendly staff and great exhibitions. Also very nice reasonably priced items to purchase. Small entry fee well worth a visit

1  Thank Bridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

A really good small museum showing the history of Dunoon and area. I was interested in some Family History and the staff were most helpful. The exhibits were fascinating, some very personal items such as a tiny kilt pin made for a boy whose father had gone off to War, and model ships from days gone by.

All in all, well worth visiting.

1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We spent a really great time in the Castle House Museum. We were visiting Dunoon in a bit of a nostalgic return having spent many summer holidays there as a child staying grandparents. John gave us a warm welcome and provided excellent advice and help and was the perfect person for the job. His wealth of local knowledge was matched by his knowledge of the contents of the museum and he was very helpful and went out of his way to help answer some queries we had.

Thank garbla900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleHouseMuseum, Manager at Castle House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks very much folks. It is nice to get reviews such as this. Enjoyed having a wee blether with you. so be sure and pop in again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews